Chaos Update

Whew…just trying to catch our breath around here. Sometimes I swear the most routine, mundane weeks are the ones that are craziest and fly by the fastest.

As I was “catching up” with my friend Kimmer last night, I realized that a whole bunch of stuff has happened in the past few weeks that may not really be blog-worthy on its own, but maybe if I lump it all in together, it will make a decent update.

First of all, we registered Em for kindergarten this morning. Yes, it is true – she is going to be a big kindergartener. We have had to do a little prep work in order to turn everything in today, but we got it all done, and she is set for the fall. (Well, she has to do a little test/screening next week, but I’m sure she will pass!)

We took a trip to the doctor last week, where the Dr. told Em she was “perfect, absolutely perfect.” Em just sat there answering the questions and beaming. She is 70th percentile for both height and weight and has hit every milestone for her age – and then some.

There was one small moment of contention when she was doing her vision test. You know the one, where they make you cover an eye, stand about 10 feet back, and read the eye chart. She was doing great until they got down to the seventh or eighth line and she couldn’t tell the letters apart (I couldn’t either…it was like 12 point font or something) and she got really flustered. She looked up at me with big tears in her eyes and whispered, “I can’t tell what it is, Mama.” I felt so bad for her. I was a “crier” when I was little and got frustrated or scared, as well. Heck, I still am known to be a bit weepy, but it is very hard to see that scared, hurt look in your daughter’s eyes.

And then…well, you know they have to have the TB test, which requires a shot, and she had to have some blood tests, which requires another needle. So we spent Monday getting poked. She was very determined to be “brave” and she really was. No tears this time. And now she can’t stop telling everyone about how “I had to have a shot, and it didn’t hurt – and now I get to go to school across the street!”

Yes, her school will be across the street! I can walk her over in my jammies.

And not only that, Addie also got into the preschool that is three blocks from our house! I might not ever have to get out of my jammies! Addie’s school is just a few hours on Tuesday and Thursdays, and she also can barely contain her excitement. If someone asks how old she is she’ll say, “two and a hafe (half), but when I get free (three), I get to go to schoo-ool,” in her little sing-songy voice. It is so cute. She is really looking forward to it.

Let’s see, so that is the girls’ school situation. J. also decided he wants to try to get his MBA in the fall. So he sent in his application earlier this week. It is an executive, 21-month program that he is hoping to get in on. I am certain he will be accepted, so that means all my babies will be in school in the fall! Yikes. What is this Mama gonna do?

J. left yesterday morning, at 4:15am for Chicago and New York for the week. Oh, don’t go feeling sorry for him. They took an un-Godly early morning flight so they could spend the afternoon at Wrigley Field watching the Cubbies win. No boo hoo hoo-ing allowed for him. The Draft is this weekend, so that is his ultimate destination, but we are pulling for him getting to come home Friday instead of Sunday. Keep your fingers crossed on that one.

I have a pretty big project that I’m working on and hoping to get completed before we go back to Michigan next month. (Oh yeah – J. is also going to get a Distinguished Alumni award from our High School, so we get to go home for a few days, watch Daddy get the award, and he has to give a speech. I think that is pretty cool.)

Um, so yeah…trying to keep everyone going in the right direction, working a bunch, and I just signed up to do another triathlon in June. Get this…it is at Disneyland! I’m so excited about this one. It has longer swim and bike legs than the last one I did, so I’m trying to step my training up a bit. Some days that works out better than others.

I also just sent in Em’s application to play soccer, (Finally, she has longed to play soccer for years!) and volunteered to be a “team parent” and “newsletter editor.” I will finally really be a Volvo-driving, cookie baking (Em’s school party was today, so we had to make cookies – will her birthday ever end?), soccer mom.

So that is our Chaos update for today. It really does feel like it is “barely controlled,” but you know – I wouldn’t have it any other way.

8 Responses to “Chaos Update”


  1. 1 Maggie April 23, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    How fun! They are both getting so big! And congrats to J for winning such a neat award. And to you for getting to stay in your jammies all the tme! Walking to school is awesome.

    And as far as the My Little Pony bandaid? I don’t think that I have worn a ‘normal’ bandaid in at least a year. Maybe more…

  2. 2 arizaphale April 23, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    A busy week indeed and congrats to J for a ‘Distinguished Alumni Award’ how cool is that?

    How does you school system work? When is mandatory school age and is kindergarten Elementary school or what? It’s all very confusing.

    Here Kindergarten occurs before school and the first year of school proper is Reception (except in NSW where its called Kindergarten!!!!!!!!) which they enter after they turn 5 or if they turn 5 before a certain date. Three year olds go to Kindergarten but it is not mandatory.
    Confused?

  3. 3 ksmcnulty April 23, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    thanks for the update. i even got some info we didn’t fit in last night. thanks.

  4. 4 Kim April 23, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    We got our Kindergarten registration papers in the mail today! Man where did the years go.

    So no big announcement about an upcoming trip to Chicago????? I know, I know, you all are busy. We’ve got a few extra bucks in our acct…. was thinking about booking our trip out there…. now I’m thinking maybe Oct???

  5. 5 msscatter April 24, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Is J. speaking at graduation? Either way that is so cool!

    Great update! I do similar things, thinking “I need to blog that” and then I never can get around to it and then it just doesn’t seem significant anymore. You just proved that it is still very important.

  6. 6 Aunt Vicki April 24, 2008 at 6:09 am

    The ONLY thing that wasn’t on that schedule was sleep. I’m thinking you probably didn’t get enough to mention. It is never too late to catch us up with all that is going on with you guys. Both kids in school — how can that possibly be already? Great honor for J. Just think — a Mason Boy Made Good! Tell him Congrats for us and that we are really proud of him! He will be the hit of the program we are sure.

  7. 7 Stacy April 24, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Congrats to J, that is so cool!

    Em was very brave if she didn’t cry at all. I was (AM) totally the same way about stress and being weepy. Poor thing!

    I am amazed at you and your triathalons. You go girl!

  8. 8 Christina April 24, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    My gosh, you really do have a lot going on!!! ALL your babies in school, what are you going to do with yourself in that big empty house?! Ha. Nadia’s been talking about school so much lately, too, I’m wondering if I should look into a MDO program for her. Man they grow up so fast.


Leave a Reply

