More Potty Talk

So, I sadly have to report that we were a little wet this morning. Enough that we had to strip the whole bed down and do a load of bedding before breakfast. She was not wet when I went in to her at 2am, why I didn’t make her go potty, I don’t know. Total bummer. But I just didn’t make a big deal out of it – and she didn’t either.

Me: “Oops…we had an accident last night?”
Ad: “Yeah, I went pee-pee, I had an accident.”
Me: “Well, maybe we won’t have extra water before bed and we’ll try again tonight?”
Ad: “Ok, Mama. I love you!”

Yeah…although she definitely flings “I love you, Mama” around a lot – it is the sweetest thing to hear, and I’d change her sheets every morning if it meant that I got to hear it.

She was not happy when I made Bear and Smokey (her stuffed cat – not the real one!) take a bath with her sheets. And I just told her that when she has accidents everybody needs to get a bath. I could tell the little wheels in her head were going as she pondered that fact. So maybe she’ll have more success tonight.

Thanks for all of the encouragement and comments, it really is so nice to get a little validation and a nod that you are doing the right thing once in awhile!

At any rate, we’ll try, try again tonight.

6 Responses to “More Potty Talk”


  1. 1 Becoming Me May 1, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Awww, sorry she was wet. I think you handled it very well…so loving and gentle.

  2. 2 carey May 1, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    ahhh, the fact that EVERYONE has to be washed after an accident got to her a little. hmmm. maybe you will have more success tonight?

    anyways, sounds like you handled the situation very well. good luck to you both!!

  3. 3 arizaphale May 2, 2008 at 3:15 am

    Such a fun time eh? I had this amazing ‘thing’ that went under the sheets which soaked up moisture. Can’t remember what it was called but it was recommended for when you were pregnant in case your waters broke. It was quite soft, a bit rubbery, but super absorbent and it was the best insurance policy against wet mattresses. OK so you had to wash a sheet now and again….no big deal and that gave the kids confidence too. Wish I could remember what it was called. Must be up in a box in the roof somewhere.
    I’m not being very helpful am I?

  4. 4 Colleen May 2, 2008 at 7:31 am

    I believe the pad arizaphale described is available through the one step ahead catalog/website. We bought 2 of them. This one actually goes over the sheet. If one gets wet… you just take it off and put the other on. You don’t have to do the whole bed. (It just shows you how lazy I am about changing bed sheets! haha)

    http://www.onestepahead.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=6773&parentCategoryId=85180&categoryId=117215&subCategoryId=86184

  5. 5 Christina May 2, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Oh well, there’s always another chance to try again! Very few of us suceed the first time we try something new!
    The “I love yous” are the best aren’t they?!

  6. 6 thelandofka May 6, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    It just takes a bit before they get it. I’m sure she will do better soon, especially if she loses her little friends to the wash. We’ve had a few accidents when there was too much water at bedtime, too. I think she has learned moderation a bit now.


Leave a Reply

