In A Nutshell

We are back! Did you miss me? I think that is the longest “break” I’ve had from blogging since…well, since our last vacation. Which, I guess wasn’t really that long ago, it just seems like it was.

I do feel like I have been sort of “phoning it in” for the past few weeks by posting photos instead of really writing. And since I don’t want to break precedence – I’m going to post a few photos, bullet point the weekend happenings, and then call it a night.

  • The flight/trip back to Michigan was completely uneventful and do I dare say, “fast”? It went very quickly and we didn’t even have to bring out all of the airplane diversions.
  • J. is now a major celebrity in our hometown. He is the 2008 Distinguished Alumni of LHS. He did a fantastic job on his speech – it was funny and insightful. I was (am!) very proud of him – and as Em would say, “he is so handsome to me” – I mean check him out all decked out…

(Signing autographs, of course.)

  • We got to spend some good time with my sister, Meesh and her gorgeous girls. Emma and Madey were inseparable the entire weekend. We had a major meltdown when they parted ways and took separate cars home from dinner on Saturday.
  • My poor parents had all of these girls running around their house for four days straight…

(I figure they will need at least this week to recuperate. Thanks Mom & Dad!)

  • We had a big 50th Birthday party for Bill. Debby (my mother-in-law) was able to pull off the “surprise” despite all kinds of curveballs that she had not anticipated.

(I think he had a good time. I also had a good time – although I may have tarnished my good reputation a wee bit. I certainly shocked my Mom. I’ll have to think on whether to post about those shenanigans or not!)

  • We watched my brother-in-law’s baseball team while they unfortunately lost their Districts playoff game. The girls had a great time playing under the bleachers. Yes, Emma is filling her pockets with a “rock collection” and Madey looks like she is about to tell on her.

  • I got in “good” with my youngest niece Ella, and we were pals by the time I left on Sunday. How did I do this? I “caught” the ball that I had found for her in Target about eleventy-billion times. But man it was so worth it. Her laugh is seriously contagious.

  • All in all, pretty good trip. We were delayed for a few hours on the way back – but a big nap for Addie in the middle of the flight made it very tolerable.
  • I was still unable to successfully capture a good photo of all of the cousins, though.

Maybe next time.

14 Responses to “In A Nutshell”


  1. 1 ksmcnulty June 3, 2008 at 3:06 am

    sounds like fun was had by all. glad you got to enjoy some extended family time. and I agree with em—j does look handsome—and every little girl should think that of her daddy:o)

  2. 2 msscatter June 3, 2008 at 3:59 am

    So sorry I didn’t get to see you, next time there will be NO excuses! Was the ceremony at our old h.s. or was it at the new one? I knew he’d do a great job. Yes! I think you should tell me (at least) what you did to shock your mom.

  3. 3 shell_newman June 3, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Glad to hear your trip back was uneventful…isn’t that the way every plane trip should be?!? I think Madey looks like she’s covering for her cousin in the “rock” photo. We’re going to have to keep a close eye on those two when they get older.

    It was so good to see all of you. I can’t wait for next month! Love you, Meesh

  4. 4 Matthew June 3, 2008 at 4:45 am

    Big congratulations to J! Wish we could have been there to cheer him on.

    I want to know what shocking thing you did!!!

  5. 5 Maya June 3, 2008 at 5:56 am

    Well that’s a big deal! Signing autographs and all!!! Congrats to him! I want to hear the stories of you having too much fun! 🙂

  6. 6 arizaphale June 3, 2008 at 6:03 am

    The stories! Definitely the stories!!!!

  7. 7 carey June 3, 2008 at 7:06 am

    ha! love the last picture!!

    so glad you had a great time on your vacation.

  8. 8 Cookie June 3, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Of course you have to tell us what you did to “ruin” your reputation!

  9. 9 Christina June 3, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Yippee! Fun times. The family resemblance is really strong.

    Seriously, you can’t hint at reputation-tarnishing stories and not tell us. You HAVE to share!

  10. 10 Maggie June 3, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    How fun! And what great shots you have! I love the cousins shot — it perfectly shows what stinkers little kids can be sometimes!

  11. 11 arizaphale June 3, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    OH and as promised I did a Crafty Tuesday post!!!!

  12. 12 thelandofka June 4, 2008 at 5:45 am

    Congratulations to J – what an honor! Looks like you had a good time in Michigan. I will eagerly wait to hear what types of shenanigans tarnished your good name. 😉

  13. 13 kim June 4, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Cute! Is it just me or does Ella look a little like Ad???? Could just be the profile shot.. who knows.
    Wow, autographs! I’m going to have to get one of those the next time i see J… or maybe he could just send me an autographed 8×10 photo… Tell him to make it out to “Kim, my secret love……

  14. 14 MommyBrain June 5, 2008 at 10:34 am

    I HAVE missed you. 🙂 Glad you had a good trip! I love the photo of the cousins all together. Congrats to J.


Leave a Reply

