Time ~ Theme Thursday

Stacy’s theme for today is Time. Something I seem to have far too little of lately. Time just keeps flying by and I often wish for just one moment to stop and catch my breath.

As I was reading about Stacy’s photography timeline, I reminisced about the very first photo I took of Emma with our new camera. I took it out of the box, started snapping photos (and haven’t stopped since). We had had a decent point-and-shoot digital camera at the time, but I often shot with film because we had an APS (remember those?) SLR camera that took really great photos, and I really liked having the prints (for scrapbooking, frames, gifts, etc.). I feared that I would never really get into the “digital” world because I would never have an actual hard copy of the photo. (Ha! Double Ha!)

Little did I know that very first photo (nearly 3 1/2 years ago) would be the start of my love affair with my camera.

(Emma at age 2 – loved this photo even if it was a little out of focus…)

(Emma at age 5 – and I am still trying to master walking, and shooting a moving object and getting it in focus apparently. But I love her “Mona Lisa-ish” smile…there is always something going on just below the surface with her.)

I have decided that I really need my camera. Possibly more than any other “thing” in my house. I need it to capture those fleeting moments. To help me remember the details that I swore I never would forget, but already seem a little hazy and far away. To help me record the passing of time.

How else would I remember how very big and green her eyes always seemed, how wispy her hair used to be, or how terribly angelic she was when she was a mere two?

12 Responses to “Time ~ Theme Thursday”


  1. 1 ksmcnulty June 5, 2008 at 3:01 am

    i love, love, love the 2 year old shot. here’s to many more shots with the passing of time.

  2. 2 Becky June 5, 2008 at 6:07 am

    Such a sweet post. My boys are 14 months old and I feel that way already. I am thankful to catch pics of them and for the blog that makes it easy to keep track of what they are up to.

  3. 3 killlashandra June 5, 2008 at 6:31 am

    Oh I totally agree with the need to have a camera. I would feel so empty if I couldn’t capture all those wonderful moments my kids have and continue to have. My step daughter shows a similar urge to take pictures and I hope that continues into the future.

    The 2 year old shot is great. She looks adorable and so happy. At 5 she’s starting to look a little more grown up. How kids change. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. 4 Christina June 5, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Awww, just look how cute and tiny she was! And how mautre she looks now. Such a sweet pic. I’m the same way with the camera, it’s my most prized posession and goes everywhere with me. At the grocery store? Yep, it’s there, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 5 thelandofka June 5, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Oh, I love these! What a sweet little two year old picture…and that mona lisa smile. *sigh* Time passes so quickly, and I know what you mean. I need my camera, too.

  6. 6 Jen June 5, 2008 at 10:56 am

    That first shot is precious. I love the “Mona Lisa” smile in the second one too. I think it makes her look even more grown up.

  7. 7 Jenn June 5, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Amen – I NEED my camera too, I take it everywhere with me…just in case – I love it, baby it, and want to capture each moment just as it’s happening! ๐Ÿ™‚ WONDERFUL pictures!

  8. 8 Andi June 5, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Priceless…your words and photos. I love your thoughts on needing your camera. I never really realized it, but regardless of the lack of my photographic abilities, the photos of my daughter’s life ARE such a TREASURE to me…to look back and see those moments that you cherished and to be able to see what you once saw. Wow. Thanks…

  9. 9 Maggie June 5, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Those are great!

    I totally agree with you — I don’t just like my camera, I NEED it. I need to be able to take pictures of the things that I love, both for myself and to share with other people.

  10. 10 Nicki June 5, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Great pics! I can’t imagine living without my camera now. Its become a new way of looking at the world around me!

  11. 11 golightly June 5, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I agree with you 100%! I had my camera out all day! (It was a busy day.) I love the 2-year-old picture, too. You see, I would have never noticed it was “slightly blurred” because I was fixed on her eyes. Gorgeous.

  12. 12 Vicky June 9, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Whoa, I just glanced at the 5 year old picture of Emma and thought I was looking at a picture of you. I had to do a double take.


Leave a Reply

