Little Girls, Flowers, & Toes…These Are a Few of My Favorite Things

My little Cinderelly was hard at work again last week.

When we returned home from our jaunt to Michigan we found some of our flowers had not fared the warm weather very well. So we babied them a bit, but decided a few of the pots just were not going to make it and could stand to be replaced with some fresh flowers.

Addie is all about “I help you, Mama?” these days and so a chance to get her hands dirty AND help Mommy…it was very serious business.

I love getting to spend some one-on-one time with Addie and have been trying (when Em is at school) to not spend the precious few hours working or running errands. It isn’t always easy, but I especially love it when we are productive, yet still both really enjoy our time together.

And I love the fact that both of the girls are really into nature. Addie likes to get her fingers (and toes!) down and dirty and that is why this my Best Shot Monday for this week. I adore her bare toes. The photo reminds me of our “garden” day. And I’m just so jealous that she can squat like that for longer than a minute!

Check out more favorite moments over at Tracey’s. And later in the week look for photos of Addie’s first “harvest” of the season!

20 Responses to “Little Girls, Flowers, & Toes…These Are a Few of My Favorite Things”


  1. 1 Maya June 9, 2008 at 3:21 am

    What a little helper!

  2. 2 carey June 9, 2008 at 3:54 am

    so cute! it is so much fun to do stuff like that with the kids. 🙂
    (i love little baby and little kid toes too!!!)

  3. 3 Kelly June 9, 2008 at 4:15 am

    Great series shots! I love when my children are actually excited about helping me!
    Love the curls!!

  4. 4 Tanya June 9, 2008 at 5:12 am

    “I help you, Mama?” …awwwww. My Mia loves to help, also…especially if it involves dirt 🙂

  5. 5 Kara June 9, 2008 at 5:21 am

    I love that she is playing with dirt…in a dress! Very memorable pics.

  6. 6 Sassy June 9, 2008 at 5:39 am

    HI!!!
    How sweet, in a pretty dress and all, digging in the dirt.
    Great pics Carrie, as always!

  7. 7 megan June 9, 2008 at 6:38 am

    she looks so intent on her job, too!

  8. 8 kim June 9, 2008 at 7:15 am

    Adorable…. she’s so sweet. And she seems to be getting so big.

  9. 9 Elaine June 9, 2008 at 7:23 am

    I LOVE the first one. These are lovely!

  10. 10 Natalie June 9, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Oh, I adore having a little helper, too! Sometimes the job takes twice as long, or longer, but I so love spending that time with my sweet girl.

    I can’t begin to tell you how jealous I am of that hair! Not to mention that she doesn’t mind getting dirty. M is SO girly that the least bit of dirt causes some major meltdown. This morning was the first time I convinced her to go outside barefoot!

    LOVE the last picture.

  11. 11 thelandofka June 9, 2008 at 10:07 am

    What a great little helper! Great shots of her helping mommy…such a little cutie. I think I see a dead plant there in the background…poor thing. 😉

    BTW…for some reason your blog isn’t updating for new posts in my feed reader (bloglines). Yours is the only one, so not sure what the problem is.

  12. 12 Nina June 9, 2008 at 10:56 am

    I just love her little “watermelon dress” !!! How adorable is that???

  13. 13 Colleen June 9, 2008 at 11:29 am

    So cute. Zoe is completely into helping out with watering the flowers. She’s got her own little watering can and insists we water together. She’s not as into the dirt as Addie though. (Takes after her Mommy!)

  14. 14 Christina June 9, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    I often marvel at little ones squatting like that, too!!

    This is so precious. The toes, the curls (which, wow – LONG!) and most of all your earnest little helper.
    None of my plants have fared too well. The black thumb strikes again. *sigh*

  15. 15 Jaimee June 9, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Oh, sooo sweet! I love that last one…such a beauty!

  16. 16 Maggie June 9, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    So cute! And how grown up is she getting — how does that happen?!

  17. 17 NTE June 9, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Helpers are so precious, aren’t they? Great shots.

  18. 18 Erinne June 9, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    She is just so adorable. What a good lil helper.

  19. 19 golightly June 9, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    I know, what happened where we can’t squat anymore!! She is such a doll. and yes, we’re ready for the beach!! BTW, did I tell you we got a membership the aquarium?

  20. 20 arizaphale June 14, 2008 at 6:48 am

    This is really sad but I just got down and checked whether I can still squat…and I CAN!!!! Hooray!!!
    The BA used to ask me to do “the TV gardening show’ with her in the garden. This involved me narrating what I was doing as if I was on TV and including her as my ‘lovely assistant’. I had forgotten about that. Thanks for bringing it back….


Leave a Reply

