Chaos Tidbits

A lot going on around here. Just a quick update before I get blogged down posting photos for the rest of the week!

First of all – my sister just found out that she was promoted to principal of her school. Yahoo! We are all very excited for her and her new adventures and challenges as the “top dog” at the high school. I know she is going to be great and I am very proud of her.

Other school-related news, J. turned in his deposit last week. He is officially a student again in the fall. I think he is a little nervous that he will not see the light of day for two more years, but I think he is also excited to be involved in academia again. Emma thinks it is very funny that Daddy “has to go to school.”

Em’s last day of school is Friday. We went to a tea room with all of her school friends and their moms this morning. They are so much fun, and I think that we are all determined to continue hanging out with each other despite the fact that the girls will go to five different schools next year. We are already planning some pool afternoons, trips to the gardens, and Mommy night outs!

Addie ended up going to the tea party with us, I had tried to get Denise here so that Ad wouldn’t have to sit and be good for more than an hour, but it actually worked out really well in the end. Especially because Addie thinks that Ella, Emma C., Kate and Chloe are all her best friends, too.

She was beautifully behaved, except for thinking the little spoon in the cream (for the scones) was for eating the cream right out of the bowl. In her defense, it did look like a little “Addie-sized” spoon. And she also really likes the little finger sandwiches, go figure!

I then went to work off the scones and sandwiches. I did a little “barter” with my spin instructor. He has been training me and helping me in the weight room in exchange for me putting together a website for him and his new movie that he is filming. I really think I am getting the better end of the deal here, but let’s not tell him that. A website will be fairly easy to put up – training me is not. But I am very happy with the results. We have been meeting twice a week for the past four weeks or so and I am definitely stronger. I am starting to see some definition where I never even knew I had muscles, and did I mention that I feel so much stronger? When I do my training for the triathlon I have noticed a definite increase in my swimming speed and I’ve been able to shave a few minutes off of my 5K run time. So I think it is working.

But as I type this, I am sitting with a bag of peas on my knee. I think I tweaked my knee…and my next triathlon is this weekend. It is actually on Father’s Day, but it is at Disneyland. I’m thinking it is going to be very cool. I’m a little uncertain about swimming in the lagoon (ew?), but J. will be there and the girls cheering me on, so I’m really psyched about it. The only bad thing is that it is at 6am. Do you know how early 6am is? Yikes. We will be staying at the DL Resort (thanks, Uncle Jeff!!) and hopefully will get a little time to go into the park on Saturday, so I hope everyone isn’t too tired to get out of bed Sunday morning. I may be done with the race by the time they roll out of bed! Or I may still be here on the couch, icing my knee. Stay tuned for that, I guess.

On the way back home on Sunday we are dropping J. at the airport and he’ll be gone for a week to NFL classes at Stanford. A week in Palo Alto…mmmm…nice!

We will be home registering for swim lessons, figuring out if I have to go for jury duty or not, possibly hitting the aquarium or beach, and preparing for our next adventure.

The girls and I are meeting up with my sister, her family, her in-laws and my parents in Miami and doing a little cruise to Mexico for my sister’s 2nd 29th birthday! Em and Ad are beside themselves with the prospect of spending four days, on a ship, with their cousins, plus a Nana & a Papa, and four pools. These girls really have no concept of “vacation.” Their whole life is one big long vacation.

It appears that summer has begun. So much for my hopes of a relaxing, casual summer. It is already proving that it will be a whirlwind race to autumn.

————-

Ugh…anybody have any experience with your RSS feed not showing up in Bloglines? Stacy noticed mine isn’t showing any new posts yesterday and I’m getting nowhere with it, I don’t know why it isn’t updating!

6 Responses to “Chaos Tidbits”


  1. 1 Maggie June 11, 2008 at 2:55 am

    Holy cow – you guys are busy busy busy! It looks like the tea room was lots of fun – and I can see where Addie would think that it was meant just for her…the spoon was the perfect size, after all!

    And good luck in your race on Sunday – I hope that your knee feels better — that is one body part that is awfully important to have use of in a triathalon!

    And a cruise?! I am totally jealous!

  2. 2 Matthew June 11, 2008 at 3:56 am

    Good luck on the race…seems like a race at Disney would be fun…except for all that hard work stuff.

    Congrats to Michelle!

  3. 3 msscatter June 11, 2008 at 4:21 am

    Bloglines is totally not working for me either. No clue, but if you figure it out . . .

    bummer about the knee, hopefully you can just “walk it off”

    Congrats Michelle. I just heard on the radio that they were cutting some teaching positions in her school district and was afraid that she might be losing her job, never thought about her being the principal!

  4. 4 Christina June 11, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    I use GoogleReader and see your posts no problem.

    My gosh, you guys are just going going! There’s always fun to be had at the Voris house! The tea party sounds sweet, and it’s great you’ve all pledge to stay in contact. I am in awe of your exercise regimen. Good luck with the triathalon – Disney sounds great!

    And a cruise? Do you know that’s my dream vacation?

  5. 5 thelandofka June 12, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Wow, chaos is right, but it sounds like FUN chaos. Hopefully you will be able to participate in your triatholon after all your training. Good luck!

    I think it must be Bloglines, too. I’ve had some others not show up and they aren’t WordPress blogs. Ugh.

  6. 6 Colleen June 12, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Sounds like chaos is putting it mildly!!!
    Busy busy busy.


Leave a Reply

