Crafty Tuesday

I actually had something to show last week, and somehow spaced completely on the Crafty Tuesday thing. However, just in case you missed it – Arizaphale and Stacy participated without us – so make sure you stop by and offer up some (better late than never!) craft love to them.

Like I said, I DID have something finished. I made a photo album (using the HP PhotoBooks that I won, thanks Stacy!) of our Hawaii trip for my mother-in-law for her birthday.

I really like the actual books. The paper is decent and printed very nicely (even on my Canon printer!), but the software…ugh. I guess it is difficult when you do design stuff for a living and have a certain “picture” in your head about what you want it to look like, but it was difficult to customize the “scrapbook pages” in the HP software. I just wanted a simple black background, with white text on some pages and no text on other pages.

But, that is not what the software thought I should have. So I scrapped that software and just designed the book in Photoshop the way I wanted to, printed them out, and gave it to her while we were home in Michigan. I think she liked it, although I have to reprint a few pages for her – I had problems with a few photos printing too dark. And since I waited til the absolute last minute (mere hours before we needed to be at the airport) to finish it up…well, you know how that goes.

Anyhow. I was pleased how it came out and if you want to see all of the pages you can see them on our Flickr account here.

And Emma and I also created some frames for her ballet buddies. We had a photo of the four of them and some old, cheap-y IKEA frames, so we stickered ’em up really good and gave them to the girls on Saturday, their last day of dance before the summer break.

This is the photo that inspired the frames…

They are such little cuties – I love the way that Kate is wrapped around Emma and Ella.

Saturday also happened to be the day of THE RECITAL! So much drama for such a little production, but the girls did really well and I’ll post the video as soon as I can get it off of Daddy’s camera. He had to do a little hop-sneaky videoing from knee level so they wouldn’t confiscate his camera, but he got Em’s part at least pretty successfully. The dance theater wanted everyone to buy their DVD and photos…so there was no photography allowed. I did not get my fill of photos, nor very many good photos of her before she was wisked away to turn in her costume. Not that I am bitter about it or anything… (grumble…price gouging…grumble, grumble, crock of….grumble!)

In other (sort of) craft-related news, the girls and I are on our own until tomorrow, so we made a little trip to IKEA for some new organizational finds and we redid the play/craft room a bit. It feels so much larger, and more organized now, well the toy part does at least. Therefore, I am off to work on trying to organize my scrap table. Hopefully I’ll be able to create some goodies later in the week.

Have you been up to something this week? Make sure to share your creativity with the rest of us!

8 Responses to “Crafty Tuesday”


  1. 1 Maggie June 10, 2008 at 4:17 am

    Cute frames!

    I can’t believe that they wouldn’t allow photography at a children’s dance recital. That just seems crazy to me — and totally unfair to you!

    The book looks like it turned out well too. I have done a few photobooks at the kodak kiosk at CVS – they seem to turn out alright, and they sure take a heck of a lot less time than scrapbooking!

  2. 2 thelandofka June 10, 2008 at 5:06 am

    Wow, no photography allowed?? That is pretty sucky, but at least you got a few sneaky shots. She is just too cute in her costume!

    Love your craft projects, too. That is such a cute idea with personalizing the frames and the stickers.

    Yes, I also agree on the HP software. It doesn’t give you enough versatility. It is for people that just want to plug their pictures into a predesigned format, and not for anyone that wants any control over it. For our trip to Sonoma I made a 12×12 book on Shutterfly. It turned out so well…I’m really happy with it! I should share the link to the book, but it looks much better printed than on the site. Some of the pictures looked crappy in their format but they printed clear.

  3. 3 Elisa June 10, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    BEAUTIFUL photo of Emma!

    That no photo thing is becoming more common as companies are brought in to video and photograph events. I’m sure the host of the event (dance school, etc) gets a cut of the photos/DVDs purchased. BUMMER.

    Kim and I were crafty this week but I did not take photos!! Did two “Small World” double page spreads from our Disney trip and made a couple of cards!

    : )

  4. 4 Nena June 10, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    I more than like it………I LOVE MY KEEPSAKE BOOK it will forever be a lasting memory of the awesome time that we had in Hawaii. Truly a once in a lifetime, and I have all of you to thank for it. Love always, Nena

  5. 5 Christina June 11, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    The book is awesome! I really like the “sand between the toes” page.

    such a cute idea to personalize the gereric photo frames! I can’t believe they wouldn’t let you take pictures of the recital, tho. My little sister’s dance recitals, they used to not allow flash photography but anything else was fine. She looks so cute in her costume – love the pipecleaner headpiece!

    Ikea’s an hour+ from us, but I need to make a trip there….gotta talk some girlfriends into going with me. :o)

  6. 6 arizaphale June 14, 2008 at 6:52 am

    I just said WOW when I saw her photo She is your most creative project….

  7. 7 kim June 17, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    OMG.. the pic from Emma’s recital is precious! I love that costume. The frames are so cute. What a terrific little gift.


  1. 1 Crafty Tuesday | tutorialqueen.com Trackback on October 18, 2008 at 1:29 am

Leave a Reply

