There’s No Salmonella on Our Tomatoes!

We had our first harvest of salmonella-free tomatoes last week. These will be the only tomatoes that will be coming into our house for awhile.

Addie has waited so patiently to get to pick her ‘matoes.

And with a quick wash of the hose…

She got her first taste of summer…

Back in the day Emma would have been the one asking “are they ready yet?” but apparently her Daddy’s aversion to tomatoes has worn off on her. She will eat broccoli, artichokes, green beans, avocados all day long, but refuses to eat tomatoes any more. I remember when Em used to eat a quart of cherry tomatoes in one sitting?

There are a few other tomatoes that are getting close, and I have my mozzarella, olive oil and basil all ready and waiting for a fresh caprese salad. Mmmm…

10 Responses to “There’s No Salmonella on Our Tomatoes!”


  1. 1 Maggie June 12, 2008 at 4:21 am

    Yum! I want to come to your house – those tomatoes look DELICIOUS!

  2. 2 Matthew June 12, 2008 at 4:27 am

    My Emma loves tomatoes…I sure hope my aversion to them doesn’t wear off on her. I must admit, these look ALMOST good enough to eat. Maybe if they were made into pizza sauce or spaghetti sauce??? 🙂

  3. 3 MelodyA. June 12, 2008 at 4:34 am

    How can you not like tomatoes? Those look awesome. I have such great memories of eating right from our backyard garden when I was little.

  4. 4 Mom June 12, 2008 at 6:12 am

    Addie is adorable….Her great grandpa also loved to pick a tomatoe rub it on his shirt and bite into it. I also love fresh tomotoes and would love to be there to share one with her.
    Love to all
    Nana

  5. 5 msscatter June 12, 2008 at 6:27 am

    I can’t wait for my tomatoes to get ripe, or even start to form. Right now my bean plants are as tall as the mater plants so I’m starting to worry.

  6. 6 thelandofka June 12, 2008 at 7:59 am

    MMMM….fresh tomatoes! I love caprese salad. Hopefully the salmonilla scare will pass quickly. I love my ‘maters! Unfortunately mine are growing slowly and we won’t have any fresh ones until late summer. 😦

  7. 7 Christina June 12, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Oh! I am SO JEALOUS!!! I’m still not having any luck with my tomatoes. One plant is totally gone, but I’m still holding out hope for the other one. I want fresh tomatoes. *stomp foot*

  8. 8 Nina June 13, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Aren’t home-grown tomatoes the best? I never had them except once while visiting my aunt and uncle in Chicago…now thanks to my hubby (he is SO into gardening) we have ours and I am hooked!

  9. 9 arizaphale June 14, 2008 at 6:58 am

    They look sensational. I seem to have completely lost my gardening incentive with the drought and too much school work. I long for the growing of our own herbs etc…..

  10. 10 kim June 17, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Funny – I just saw my first little bud of a tomato – a few more weeks for us.


Leave a Reply

