Welcome, Summer!

You know it is summer when you get your first taste of an ear of corn…

…and your first smore.

And we have discovered the makings of the most spectacular smore, ever! All ingredients from Trader Joe’s – the cinnamon-sugar grahams, vanilla marshmallows (they are SOOO good) and the 72% cacao dark chocolate bars.

Ugh. Heaven.

And yes, Em did wear her hair like that to school. Denise did it for her last week and when she woke up in the morning she was insistent on wearing it to school.

Eh…whatever. It looked pretty good and hardly messed up, so I sent her on her merry way. She reported back after school that “everyone thought I looked very cool!”

And today is her last day of preschool.

She is an official kindergartener. It is killing me a little bit. (Ok, a LOT!) But I’m so excited for some serious summer fun over the next few months.

We are going to fill the days with fun, and not think about that day in the fall when I walk both of them to school for the first time, and then promptly run home in tears. (Please note: I didn’t say whether it would be tears of sorrow or tears of joy. We shall soon see.)

Fun. Fun! Thinking only of the fun ahead! I have a feeling it is going to be a great summer.

7 Responses to “Welcome, Summer!”


  1. 1 Maggie June 13, 2008 at 4:02 am

    Emma is looking so grown up! I love the B&W of her – gorgeous!

  2. 2 Nina June 13, 2008 at 7:00 am

    That B&W of Emma….wow….breathtaking.

  3. 3 heatherjose June 13, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Another great smore is granny smith apples instead of graham cracker. Along with chocolate and marshmallow it is a great mix of sweet and tart.

  4. 4 Christina June 13, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    I love her braids, very fun. I remember a Kenyan friend doing my sister’s hair like that – and she was FAST, did her entire head in like 10 minutes!!
    Mmm, corn. Nadia could eat that stuff all day every day. And smores – I could eat them all day every day. ;o) I wish Trader Joes was here, I hear so much good about that place.

  5. 5 arizaphale June 14, 2008 at 7:14 am

    What are smores? I have heard them mentioned a few times lately. As for that beautiful b&w shot. Awwww .You will be just fine when school starts. After all, after a whole summer you will be glad of a little ‘me’ time 🙂

  6. 6 golightly June 16, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    those braids are so cute! and the smores…I want to go to Trader Joes right now!!

    I love the B&W of Em. Perfect. She is so beautiful.

  7. 7 kim June 17, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Love that last shot..
    I hope you can fit us into your fun-filled summer……


Leave a Reply

