And the award goes to…

I think Emma is working really hard on winning the “Best Big Sister – Ever” award. The past few days she has been unbelievably sweet to Addie, and I don’t think she has an ulterior motive here. She has always been kind to Addie, well…let’s not get hasty here. Maybe not always, but there have been definite moments of sweetness. But lately they are practically inseparable.

Yesterday, even though we went to Em’s friends house with all of her preschool friends, Em made a concerted effort to include Addie in everything they did from swimming to opening their own little “snack bar” with the picnic supplies that we brought. She was even the one to yell when Addie walked into the pool without her swimmy-vest on. (That is another story for another day – I’m still recovering from that one!)

I was so excited when we found out we were having another girl, I really wanted Em to have a sister. At the time Addie was being “baked,” we lived next door to two amazing teenage girls, who were only a few years apart. (They were also great babysitters!) I loved watching them “hang out” together and I longed for our girls to be close like that. And since I love my sister (although we didn’t really get close until we were much older), I just knew how special that bond is.

So to see Em so devoted to Addie, and Addie in complete and utter adoration of all things Emma, it really just makes my heart explode.

Tonight as I was putting the girls to bed, we were in Ad’s room giving her kisses and she declared, “I don’t wanna sleep in my bed tonight.”

I, of course, thought “there goes my solo-sleep tonight.” But instead she climbed down on her floor and cuddled in to “sleep” on her rug.

M: “Hey, do you guys want to have a sleep-over tonight? Ad maybe you can sleep on Em’s trundle?”
(This brought squeals of joy from both of them!)
E: “Wait – no! Addie you can sleep in my big bed and I’ll sleep on the trundle bed. Then if you get scared, I’ll be right there and I can catch you if you fall.”

The job of a big sister – Kiss away the fears and catch you if you fall.

She most definitely wins that award in my book.

12 Responses to “And the award goes to…”


  1. 1 MelodyA. June 18, 2008 at 4:34 am

    A big loud “Awwww” from over here!

  2. 2 Elisa June 18, 2008 at 6:32 am

    SO SUPER SWEET!!!!!

  3. 3 Kimmer June 18, 2008 at 7:54 am

    awwww, how sweet — i wish i could share those sweet big sister stories right now–but it’s not happening from texas :o)

  4. 4 thelandofka June 18, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Oh, she most definitely wins the award! That was such a sweet post…I want to give her a hug for being so loving. šŸ™‚

  5. 5 carey June 18, 2008 at 9:21 am

    awwwwwwwwww! so very sweet!!

  6. 6 Christina June 18, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Oh goodness, she is just the sweetest! The answer to your mommy prayer and more. Wow. I definitely hope for another girl if (and that’s a big if) we ever have another child.

    But, I can’t see pic #2??

  7. 7 Colleen June 18, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    I have tears in my eyes.
    I just can’t wait.

  8. 8 Maggie June 18, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    That is so sweet! What a great big sister she is — and what a great thing to be able to look back on in about ten years when they are bickering!

  9. 9 kim June 19, 2008 at 5:53 am

    Oh my gosh – that is so sweet!!!!! What a good girl!

  10. 10 arizaphale June 20, 2008 at 5:14 am

    Oh my goodness! She is such a doll.What a lucky girl Addie is to have such a thoughtful Bog Sis

  11. 12 Maya June 22, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    That is so sweet. What a wonderful big sis! And yikes on the pool…I’m so scared of that right now!


Leave a Reply

