$5 a gallon gas is good for something…

It would appear that everyone in LA is driving more slowly, or maybe it is just seems like it because I am attempting to drive more slowly? It could very well be that since I have no place in particular to go this week, and by just forcing myself to slow down, it in turn seems to have made everything and everybody else move a little more slowly, too. Factor in the record-setting 100+degree heat in the Valley the past few days, and yeah…it is too hot and too expensive to move very fast.

We talked J. into letting us drive his car this week since I knew I wanted to try to do the beach and some other little trips, and his car gets ridiculously crazy, good gas mileage. So our car went to the airport with him, and we have been driving around in 46+mpg style. It cost half of what it costs to fill my car when we stopped at the gas pump the other night. Half. And here I felt so good when I traded down to a car and got rid of my gas-guzzling SUV last year. I guess we should have just bought two Priuses (What is the plural of Pruis? Priuses, Priui?).

But, (here it comes) I have been a bit paranoid driving his car all week. I know he is cursing me out as he reads this because he knows exactly what I am going to write next. He has been diligently driving more slowly and taking care to accelerate/stop more easily (and anyone who has EVER ridden with J. knows this is truly quite a feat in itself!) all in order to get his mpg up over 46.

Yeah…and I have been driving on eggshells trying to keep it there as well. But on Monday it dropped to 45.9. Tuesday, 45.8 and then 45.7! Yesterday on our long beach trip I got it back up to 45.8…but it has slipped again. Oh, I think I am going to be banned from driving the Prius forever.

So, J. – You better come home soon and reclaim your car. See what happens when you leave for a week? I clearly cannot be trusted with this task. Although, I did get it serviced for you. And they did a crappy job on the car wash, so the girls and I got it re-washed and vacuumed out, too. Doesn’t that earn us some points? Maybe a few hundredths of a mile?

Ok, how about this? Just look how cool your girlies look, and they so love to ride in “Daddy’s car.” You can’t deny that these movie stars aren’t worth a few hundredths of a mile, right? Right?


Ugh. Just come home already, so you can see this in your rear view mirror. We miss you.

Note: Yesterday’s photo of Em, the first, goggle one is my new favorite photo of Em right now. And this, in the rearview mirror one, is my new favorite photo of Addie. I think both photos really capture what their personalities are like right now. Sweet, sweet, sweet!

11 Responses to “$5 a gallon gas is good for something…”


  1. 1 arizaphale June 20, 2008 at 5:20 am

    They’re all lovely! The petrol price thing is getting beyond a joke. We find ourselves now rationing our trips and car pooling whenever we can 😦

  2. 2 carey June 20, 2008 at 5:31 am

    LOVE that last picture! simply ADORABLE!

  3. 3 thelandofka June 20, 2008 at 5:33 am

    Oh, love the photos, but that last one is fantastic! Besides her being super duper cute it’s just great composition. πŸ™‚

    I think the price around here is about 4.00 or so here. On our trips this summer, my big gas guzzler with the DVD player will likely be left at home. It was great having all the seats a few weekends ago though. We got 7 in it and that is why I bought the dang thing. I’m glad I don’t have to drive very far to work at least.

  4. 4 Matthew June 20, 2008 at 5:34 am

    Oh, that one of Em looking over her shades! CUTE!

    I guess there are some benefits to living here…gas is $3.84 today at the station I go to in the boonies of Harrodsburg, KY!

  5. 5 Kimmer June 20, 2008 at 10:22 am

    daddy’s at home are a nice thing to have, huh? wow, love the pictures, but I have to say as i was scrolling back up and just caught em’s lips and nose (the one of her peeking over the glasses) i thought for sure i was going to be looking at a picture of her momma :o)

  6. 6 Christina June 20, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    I have a feeling all was forgiven as soon as you flashed those pics of his girlies. How could he ever be mad at those faces???
    Okay, I clicked the link to the post about your “new” car and it totally had me cracking up since there you were singing the praises of its gas milage and now you’re bashing it! LOL! the gas prices really are freakin’ crazy. I’m trying to drive more carefully too for the sake of mileage, too, which is hard since I have a lead foot! I’m thinking I might need to trade in for a Prius, tho….that mileage is incredible, even the “low” 45.7.

  7. 7 Nina June 21, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Wonderful pics! But I would not trade in ReeRee (my minivan) for anything….I just try to drive it less…you should have seen all6 of us fit in my old Carolla!!! The door would open and we would all pop out like we had been squeezed out!

  8. 8 Kim June 21, 2008 at 10:26 am

    I miss our carpool trips to Meijer! I was thinking about that the other day as I was getting close to having to fill up on my way to the store…..

  9. 9 Anna June 22, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Oh, those photos are tremendous. What personality you have captured!

    And I’d take 45 mpg ANY DAY! πŸ™‚

  10. 10 Maya June 22, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    How funny is that! We want a Pruis and that is so funny about the gas mileage. I’m loving the glamor girls!

  11. 11 Jenn June 22, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Lovely pictures your girls are soo cute and I love how they just totally caught there personalizes! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

