Happy Birthday, Michelle!

The girls and I made my favorite cake yesterday, the Hummingbird cake. Well, it is my favorite cake to bake, and a very close second to carrot cake as my fave cake to eat!

It is three layers of yumminess and looks so pretty with fresh flowers. (I will post the recipe soon!) The girls loved to “decorate” it so I’m certain this will be the kind of cake they ask to make in the future.

Yes, she sneaked a quick lick of frosting – I didn’t catch that photo, though.

Anyhow, the occasion for the cake was a very special birthday for my friend Michelle.

Four kids in a pool

We hope you are having a great day, Michelle and wish you love and happiness today and all year through! We won’t even ask you “what number you are” today. (That is what Emma asks everyone on their birthday – “What number are you?”)

Happy Birthday, Michelle!

10 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Michelle!”


  1. 1 carey June 28, 2008 at 6:47 am

    pretty cake, looks yummy too!

  2. 2 golightly June 28, 2008 at 8:04 am

    That cake looks yummy!! And beautiful! Looks like a lot of fun.

    BTW – love the new header.

  3. 3 Christina June 28, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I’m glad you said you’ll post the recipe soon, as I was going to ask! It sure does look pretty with fresh flowers.
    Happy bday to Michelle. :o)

  4. 4 Maya June 29, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Yes recipe please!!! Love it with the flowers!

  5. 5 kim June 29, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Beautiful cake. I hope Michelle had a wonderful birthday.

  6. 6 Maggie June 29, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    That is a seriously good looking cake — I didn’t know that you were such a baker (although I shouldn’t really be surprised, you’re so creative)!

  7. 7 carrievoris June 29, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Maggie –
    I LOVE to bake, would bake over actually cook any day of the week! But my mom makes AMAZING cakes…I think some of it has soaked in over the years, but I have a long way to go to get close to any of her creations!

  8. 8 Stacy June 30, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Great job and it looks SO YUMMY! That is such a pretty cake – love the fresh flowers.


  1. 1 Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on June 29, 2008 at 7:36 pm
  2. 2 Yum-O Hummingbird Cake « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on June 29, 2008 at 7:37 pm

Leave a Reply

