Fabulous

Channeling Sharpay from HSM, Emma thinks she is “Fabulous!”

And she is, of course. But she has given me a few of those tight-chest, prickly tears in my eyes, panicky moments this week.

She swam across the pool on her own on Monday – head in the water, full on strokes – it was like something clicked this week and she has become a fish.

Last night she read me two full books. Every. Word. In. Both. Books. I was trying to be all cool and tell her how awesome she was doing, while inside I was freaking out. My baby! Reading. Just yesterday she was chewing on board books, now she is clamoring for new books that she can read to me?

And today, she told me I didn’t need to go into the restroom with her, “I got it, Mom. I don’t need your help.” Hey…it wasn’t so long ago I was changing your diapers, little one!

I know she is growing up, and I need to step back, let her go and just revel in all of her achievements. But, gah! I’m so not ready for all of this. There is no gradual “stepping out on her own” going on here. She is full-on running. I’m just trying to keep up, and keep my chin up at the same time.

8 Responses to “Fabulous”


  1. 1 Nickie July 2, 2008 at 2:45 am

    I wish mine was just growing up and reading books but how’s this for growing up? Brit had her sports physical yesterday and the doc said to start preparing her for her “Aunt Flo” as it should be soon. For the love, she just turned 10. He said it’s happening younger & younger…9/10 is the average while 12 is “late”…what?

  2. 2 MelodyA. July 2, 2008 at 4:13 am

    Just read the comment from Nickie up there and flipped! Yowza. Crazy how sometimes it all happens at once.

  3. 3 Elisa July 2, 2008 at 6:09 am

    All is well! She is doing exactly what she should be doing. And because you’ve been doing such a great job you are feelling exactly the way you should be feeling!

    It happens fast – but you’ve got the right outlook as you try to revel in what she is doing and just keep up!

    It’s kind of the ol’ “can’t beat ’em, join ’em” saying!

    How wonderful for all of you!!!!

    Remind me of this next year as we are sending Melissa off to college!!! : )

  4. 4 Christina July 2, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    *sigh* Isn’t it just heartbreaking how fast they grow up? It makes your heart swell in pride and break into a thousand pieces all at the same time. She is fabulous. And no matter how big she gets, she’ll always be your Gracie Girl, your baby.

  5. 5 Maggie July 2, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Look at how grown up she looks! Not to mention looking fabulous. But hopefully she won’t grown up TOO fast. Hang in there!

  6. 6 Becoming Me July 3, 2008 at 8:45 am

    That is really cute. Little girls love to act and role play. My four year old loves the CInderella song by SCC because what four-year- princess wouldn’t? Sweet song. Anyway, she made up her own little routine which has her running away at the very end.

  7. 7 arizaphale July 8, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Ah yes. And it doesn’t change much. Tonight I had to tell the BA that even though she is a teenager now it does not mean she gets to stay up until all hours. I am still the mother and I still say when bedtime is! Not sure when I will be able to let go of that one…..


  1. 1 More big girls running around over here « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on July 3, 2008 at 7:45 am

Leave a Reply

