We’re Outta Here…

Well, technically the girls and I are not leaving until Sunday morning, but the ‘ol Mac is taking a bit of a trip, too. It is going to go spend four lovely days and nights at the luxurious Genius Bar and get a little cosmetic surgery. A bit of the “edge” around my laptop has chipped off and apparently they need a few days, but can put a new top on for me.

And I figured since I had already planned on leaving my laptop behind when we went on the cruise, now was a good time for it to be in the shop, and J. has so kindly agreed to pick it up and return it to safety for me.

Speaking of J, we have had him home the past two days and it has been busy but very fun.

He took a ton of photos and videos of the girls’ last two days of swim class. The video of Em jumping off the diving board and swimming to the side like she has been doing this sort of thing all her life just amazes me every time I watch it. I was there, but I still can’t believe it! I will definitely not get those videos edited and up tonight, so they will have to wait until we get back.

But here are some of my favorite photos from the past few days…

Do you think she loves the pool?

I LOVE SWIMMING!

Her first jump off the board.

And Addie took a turn as well, although she was clearly not as excited as Em.

We also hung out and played in the fountain at the Paseo for awhile. The girls were a little unsure about the spouting water for a few minutes seconds…

But it didn’t take too long before the call of the water got to them.

All this fun, I probably should have been packing and preparing – but I guess that is what tomorrow is for, right?

Anyhow, I have a few posts set up so you won’t miss us too much, but don’t expect too much until next weekend. We shall return with many photos (I got a 16G compact flash today, so I can take even more!) and stories for you. Have a great week!

10 Responses to “We’re Outta Here…”


  1. 1 Maggie July 5, 2008 at 4:00 am

    Such fun pool shots! And what a big girl she is to jump off the diving board all by herself — WOW!

    Can I ask what kind of lens you are using? More specifically, are you using a zoom lens, or are you good enough NOT to get all wet when standing close by small children in a pool? I haven’t quite mastered this feat…

    Have a FANTASTIC time on your cruise! I’ve never been on one, so I don’t *really* know what I am missing…but that doesn’t stop me from being TOTALLY jealous! And Happy Birthday to your sister!

  2. 2 carrievoris July 5, 2008 at 6:18 am

    Maggie –
    Yes, I am using my zoom (or my lazy lens as I like to call it – I can sit comfortably out of the way and just shoot!) It is a 70-300mm/f-4-5.6. I actually need to get it out more often, but like I said…I am a bit lazy, and I don’t lug it around with me, I just tend to use it when I know I will definitely need it!

  3. 3 Jen A. July 5, 2008 at 6:41 am

    Hope your move to Texas is a smooth one. My hubby is from the Dallas area–Plano to be exact–so we visit often. You’ll love it there…once you get used to the heat!

    Happy travels!

  4. 4 Christina July 5, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Have an awesome time!!! As I’ve told you before, a cruise is my dream vacation, so I am insanely jealous. Get in a little extra relaxation time in my name, okay?

    Okay, now the pictures – J took them? Cuz that just wouldn’t be fair if you’re both that good. Those are so cute, and I love her excited face. Also love Em’s hesitant stance at the fountain.

    I have a 55-200VR lens, but never use it. Nifty fifty all the time, altho I need to get more versatile.

    But the comment about moving to TX?? Surely that’s a mistake, because you wouldn’t even think about that without telling me, right??

    Okay, ending the novel. 😉

  5. 5 lynn July 5, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Love your photos. So crisp and clear.

  6. 6 Maya July 5, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    I can’t tell if she loves the water or not? Love it!

  7. 7 Papa July 5, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    YOU’RE MOVING TO TEXAS????whydidn’tyoutellusyouweremovingtoTexaswhenyouwerehomelastmonthareyougoingtosurpriseusdowehearaboutitonourcruisenextweek????
    I love your rendition of Emma’s runonsenntences, so thought that would be a good place to try one out as a response to the (hopefully) case of mistaken identity.
    Way to go Em on your diving, I was just watching the video of you and Addie soaking Fritz by our pool a few minutes ago. You would have loved to see him pull Nana in with her clothes on yesterday. He loves the water as much as you do.
    See you soon,
    Love,
    Papa

  8. 8 kim July 7, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Those shots are so fun!!! I wish mine were as comfortable in the water.

  9. 9 thelandofka July 8, 2008 at 5:01 am

    Oh, I bet you will have so much fun! Have a wonderful time on your cruise. The pictures of the girls in the pool are wonderful and looks like they are having a lot of fun. We really need to get our kids into swimming lessons.

  10. 10 arizaphale July 8, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Love the last shot with the water drops suspended in mid air!!


Leave a Reply

