Retiring the double-jog stroller

No, I’m not hanging up my running shoes for good. But I do think that the days of throwing the girls in the jog stroller and hitting the pavement for an easy workout have sadly come to an end.

Let’s do the math here.
One double job stroller = over 20 pounds.
One solid almost 3-year old = nearly 30 pounds.
One willowy 5-year old = nearly 40 pounds.

That is nearly 100 pounds of mass that I need to push, while trying to propel my own, ahem…substantial body forward. For at least three miles. (Yes, Dad. I’m aware that the math doesn’t actually add up to 100 pounds – but believe me the difference between 90 and 100 pounds is pretty negligible when it comes down to it.)

It is kind of sad – it really was an easy way to get a workout in especially when it was too nice to be stuck on a treadmill in the gym. Plus the park is about 1.5 miles away, so I would run there, let the girls play and then run back. Everyone was happy.

Saturday, however that happiness faded just a bit.

J. was gone and it looked nice outside (about a block into our run I realized it was actually pretty darn hot and we should have left about an hour earlier) and I told the girls that we were heading to the park.

“Why aren’t you running Mommy?”
(Um, I will when I get this 100 pounds out of the driveway to the sidewalk.)
“Hey, run faster, Mommy!
“Are you going to run faster, Mama?”
“FASTER!”

It was like having two drill sergeants yelling every step of the way. And on the way back…

E: “Addie do you hear it? Clip clop, clip clop!”
“Mama! You sound just like a horsey.”

Fantastic, that is exactly what I want to hear. I sound like a horse when I run.

Needless to say, I went out for a run on Sunday, too. This time…alone.

5 Responses to “Retiring the double-jog stroller”


  1. 1 Cara July 30, 2008 at 5:53 am

    That’s too funny, not only were they dilling you to go faster they call you a horse, kids!
    I am ready to invest in a double stroller. My 2 year old decided he no longer wants to walk now that hs baby brother is riding in the stroller. You should see me carrying a 35 lb toddler and pushing a 18 lb infant, with heels on trying to get them into daycare.

  2. 2 MelodyA. July 30, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Nothing like our kiddos to tell it how it really is. And I’m surprised you had still been pushing BOTH girls in it.

  3. 3 Christina July 30, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Who needs a personal trainder when you’ve got those two?! They sound tough on you! Pity the stroller has reached its limit, but knowing you I have no doubt you’ll find a way to fit a workout in.

  4. 4 Maggie July 30, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    That’s too funny! I actually like to run with the double jogger more…and the boys are 40 lbs a piece! I think that it’s easier to run with the momentum from the stroller. Or maybe I just like it because it hides my blubber…

  5. 5 Kim August 6, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    clip clop clip clop. Ok, smiling again.


Leave a Reply

