Chaos Update (Of Sorts!)

Whew. The loooongest week ever.

Between the “earthshake,” some tired (therefore crabby!) girls, and the jam-packed days that this summer seems to be providing, it has just been a long, long week.

I did pull out a new game that I had saved over from Christmas to give the girls when a diversion was needed – and it has turned into an obsession!

Our new obsession

Every morning, every evening, every tiny moment of “down” time – “Mama will you play Hi Ho Cheerios with us?”

Addie couldn’t believe I was taking the photo above without a “star” in it, so she had to provide a sweet face.

My new favorite game

Today was our last day of swim lessons for this cycle. Addie seems pretty bored with the whole thing and would rather just spend her time in the baby pool.

Em’s instructor (Staaaanley! Whom she has a minor crush on and can’t say his name without being completely starry-eyed and giggly. She’s five. FIVE!) pulled me aside before we left though and said that she and one other kid, were the only ones who completed all of their Tot level requirements – one of which was swimming the length of the pool, unaided (40ft!). He said if she does maybe one more cycle, and gets her side breathing down, she can move up to Advanced Strokes.

Of course the entire time he was telling me this she was just looking at him like he was the most fascinating creature ever. GAH! And then after we walked away she kept asking me, “What did Stanley say, Mama? Did he think I did a good job? Is he so proud of me?”

Double GAH!

So anyhow, I need a break. I think we will take the next two weeks off, and then at least Em will probably do the last cycle of swim lessons before school starts. I think next year she will be full-on, ready to move up.

Em swingin'

She keeps asking me when we are going to go school shopping. I promised each of them their own “day” with Mommy where we would do a little “Back To School” shopping. I used to love the start of school, searching for the right supplies to take in my backpack on the first day of school. Mmmm…the smell of new unsharpened pencils and the fresh, untouched sheaths of notebook paper. Yes, I was a bit of a nerd in school, too.

Anyhow, I think that Em is really just excited for a “date” with Mommy. And I expect we will have to fit that in next week before she drives me crazy with the incessant questioning.

Speaking of fall, I just threw up the last of my July photos in Flickr yesterday….today we have to create an August set!

Summer is drawing to a close, and I need to get off of this computer and back to soaking those last few moments up.

Summer twilight

5 Responses to “Chaos Update (Of Sorts!)”


  1. 1 ksmcnulty August 1, 2008 at 3:41 am

    Hi Ho Cherry-O is one of P’s favorites as well. Although I have to say, we don’t have the color coordinated cherry to pail set that you have :o)

  2. 2 Maggie August 1, 2008 at 4:26 am

    I love the shot of the empty swing…it’s so peaceful looking!

    I am also totally jealous that you have your July photos all uploaded….I think that I am still trying to finish up June!

    And I LOVED school supply shopping when I was little. Who am I kidding…I STILL love to shop for school supplies. There, I said it. I’m not ashamed…too much anyway…

  3. 3 Erinne August 1, 2008 at 10:52 am

    They are so sweet. Glad your taking a break for the next few weeks – I personally find the summer’s much busier then the school year.

    I’m so thankful you are all ok – after your earthshake that must have been so very scary… Have been thinking of all my bloggy pals in the California area during this time.

  4. 4 Christina August 1, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Yep, lots going on there! We have Hi-Ho-Cherry-o but all we do so far is take cherries on and off the trees. Geez lousie, Em with her first crush already?! Major GAH! I’ll have to go school shopping with N pretty soon too – did I tell you she’s in preschool 2 days a week this fall? I’m working on my last batch of July photos…I have so many this month, like double usual!

  5. 5 arizaphale August 4, 2008 at 9:31 am

    I can so picture her gazing up at her instructor. How funny! That last swing picture is a bit sad though. Mind you, if you are getting ready for Fall we should be making way for Spring! Can’t see it in the temps yet though….brrr


Leave a Reply

