The Eyes Have It ~ Theme Thursday

Both times I was pregnant, I spent nine months willing my girls to come out with J’s warm, chocolate-y colored eyes.

When Em came out, I realized that even with all of my willing (and eating a lot of chocolate) she was going to definitely have green eyes, like me. I was consoled by the fact that she got J.’s big, almond-shaped eyes, and not my squinty ones, though.

And when Addie came out, her eyes were even bigger, complete with even longer eyelashes – which I didn’t think was possible. Her eyes are more brown, some days they are close to that chocolate color, but most days they seem to be more golden, kinda green-brown, still definitely lighter than J’s.

In the end, (and all that really matters) I am happy to get to sing “Brown-Eyed Girl” to one of my girls. (Although I do adapt the lyrics to include Em’s pretty green eyes, too.)

Though as similar as they are, I am always astounded when I look at photos of them. The stories their eyes tell are very different, indeed.

Right after she asked what a model is.

Emma has serious eyes. Her eyes are wise beyond their wee little five years. They are always analyzing. Always thinking. Always plotting out her next move or scanning her environment, curiously anxious to ask her next question.

Even playing she is so serious

Addie on the other hand…

Double-fisted

She does not have what I would call “serious” eyes. Where Em’s eyes seem so “wise,” Addie’s are completely child-like. She wears her heart in her eyes. One minute they dance with mischief and happiness, the next they are brimming with tears. They are so very expressive – you are never left wondering what she might be feeling or thinking.

My brown-eyed girl

It is why I love raising these two little girls.

They each come from the same set of genes, growing up in the same environment. You can tell they are sisters – you can see it in their eyes, yet they couldn’t be more different. They are two completely different and individual little beings.

Stop over to Stacy’s today to look through some other sets of eyes.

17 Responses to “The Eyes Have It ~ Theme Thursday”


  1. 1 Maya August 7, 2008 at 4:43 am

    They do have some amazingly gorgeous eyes!

  2. 2 ksmcnulty August 7, 2008 at 5:10 am

    My dad and I always talk about the uniqueness of each child’s personality (from the same set of genes) is what makes a family. Enjoy those cutie patuties :0)

  3. 3 Jen August 7, 2008 at 7:22 am

    Oh, how beautiful. You words and photos are so moving. My two are so alike and so different too. It is so wonderful.

  4. 4 killlashandra August 7, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Wow I agree Addie wears her heart in her eyes. What a beautiful picture and eyes do seem to speak to you. I especially like the 2 straw look, maybe she really wants another drink to see if 3 straws are possible. 😉

    No one on my side of the family has blue eyes, and when my little boy came along he took after Daddy with his blue sometimes graylike eyes. However, my other two clearly have brown eyes, and look more like me than Daddy somedays. Which I like as they are my step kids.

  5. 5 Tanya August 7, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Oh, how lovely. I’m so glad Stacy picked eyes this week. Seeing all these gorgeous eyes is totally making me smile 🙂

  6. 6 thelandofka August 7, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Beautiful shots of them. You can really see their little personalities in their eyes. I can really correlate what you are saying about their personalities to what is showing in their eyes. 🙂

  7. 7 Christina August 7, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Another awesome post! Their beautiful eyes really do say so much about them…I can definitely see those personality traits in them. And, Addie and Nadia are similar in that way. Beee-u-tiful.

    And love the pic of Addie double fisting her juice!

  8. 8 Maggie August 7, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    They both have gorgeous eyes — clearly they got some great genes from their parents! 🙂

  9. 9 golightly August 7, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    They are gorgeous girls! I love those eyes. And your words, Harrison and his big brother have 14 years between and personalities that are night and day. Big Brother is extremely laid back; Harrison – non-stop high energy.

  10. 10 carey August 7, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    great shots, your girls definitely have beautiful eyes!
    it is funny that you were so hoping for brown eyes and i was so hoping for blue eyes. but you know, i think that place in between brown and blue ended up being far more lovely!

  11. 11 HeadGaggler August 7, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    They are both gorgeous! I love having two girls that look different too. I am sure they will act differently as they get older. Beautiful shots of them.

  12. 12 laura August 7, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    You describe them so well and beautifully. Gorgeous eyes!

  13. 14 Mandy August 8, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Old soul and new soul. I have a pair of those as well. Your girls are beautiful. Also love the b&ws.

  14. 15 Colleen August 8, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Thoroughly gorgeous. Oh how you make me look forward to raising my little girlies.

  15. 17 arizaphale August 10, 2008 at 5:01 am

    Those are extraordinary pairs of peepers those gals have there and wonderful photos from Mum. This was a great theme. I totally failed to do it.


Leave a Reply

