Antique ~ Theme Thursday

I have been playing with vintage/antique treatments for the past few weeks now, so when Stacy suggested antique for the Theme Thursday I figured I might be able to pull something out for it.

This photo (despite Addie’s crazy, frizzy hair) just reminded me of two little porcelain dolls, and when I started playing with it and desaturating the color, I like what it added to the photo. I also warmed it up a little bit – I think the yellow tones add to that vintage feel.

Two Antique Dolls

And then this photo – one of my favorites of the week. It didn’t look quite right in black & white, or even sepia toned – but I just desaturated the color and added a little bit of a textured mask around the edges and now I really like it.

I wonder...

Just lying back, watching the clouds go by. I wonder what is going through that mind of hers…

12 Responses to “Antique ~ Theme Thursday”


  1. 1 MelodyA. August 14, 2008 at 4:41 am

    That top one woulda been perfect for last week’s “eyes”- they are just stunning. Great job on the processing.

  2. 2 Maggie August 14, 2008 at 4:47 am

    This is great! I love desaturated color like this — it totally gives that ‘antique’ feel to the photo. Nice job!

  3. 3 msscatter August 14, 2008 at 5:01 am

    The one of just A is my favorite. I love the colors in the dress. the other is really cool but the 2nd is my favorite.

  4. 4 thelandofka August 14, 2008 at 5:38 am

    I love both of them! The girls do look like porcelain dolls – just beautiful. Great job on the processing, too! That’s totally why I have used this method. Sometimes it doesn’t look quite right in color or b&w, so it needs something in between. šŸ™‚

  5. 5 megan August 14, 2008 at 7:20 am

    definitely dolls — the eyes are wonderful.

  6. 7 Christina August 14, 2008 at 8:01 am

    Eeek, they really do make the perfect china dolls. So beautiful. Ad’s frizzy hair even adds to the effect!

  7. 8 killlashandra August 14, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Beautiful eyes. The desat really makes the eyes sparkle and seem so piercing. Really nice job. I think the frizz works just fine in the picture. it’s a nice contrast against the brown hair too.

  8. 9 Jen August 14, 2008 at 9:56 am

    The eyes really shine in that first photo. I love the processing on both of them.

  9. 10 Maya August 14, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    I think both of these look so beautiful with the antique tone! I’d right more…but swimming’s on! šŸ™‚ I know you understand!

  10. 11 arizaphale August 16, 2008 at 5:32 am

    Wonderful treatments. I love Addie’s face in the first one. You’re right, just like a porcelain doll. I almost did something for ‘antique’ but in the end work took priority and I had to miss out again šŸ˜¦

  11. 12 golightly August 16, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Oh, I love these two shots! They are gorgeous. I often wonder what is in Harrison’s head too as he sit and looks out at the world.


Leave a Reply

