A Date with My Girl and the Mall

Em and I had our date today. On the agenda was a little one-on-one time, back-to-school shopping, and dinner. I figured that we would be out for a few hours when Em would get tired and we’d have to head back home.

Yes. Well. About that.

Six hours later…SIX hours of shopping and fun. I fear the girl is a born shopper. God help us.

I kept asking if she was tired or wanted to rest and she just kept saying, “No, Mama! Where are we going now?”

I think it was a sneak peek into what shopping with a teenager is going to be like.

As she checks herself out in the mirror, all I hear is
“Do you think this looks like a Sharpay shirt, Mama?”
“Would Sharpay wear these kind of jeans, Mama?”
“Look! It is a pink bag! Just like Sharpay’s!”

Checking out the goods

I just can’t get used to shopping in the girls section. The clothes just seem so old and a little too hoochie. Gone is that innocence found in the toddler section.

But just as I was mourning the loss of my little girl to the High School Musical merchandising demons geniuses, she turns around with this sweet, little, pink polka-dotted shirt with a soft, gray kitten right there in the middle of the chest.

“Oh, Mom! Look how pretty this shirt is! Do you like it? I bet Addie will like it! It looks like the one we got for her for her birthday. Can we get this one so I can be twins with Addie?”

My little shopper

Ah….there she is. My little five-year old.

After we shopped (and used up all my coupons – we got great deals, J!), Em chose Panera for dinner. We had a lovely dinner. Just the two of us, talking over sandwiches.

I couldn’t help hoping that we will be able to do this often, especially when she is a teenager. Hoping that she will want to go shopping with me (and not just because I am paying) and no matter how tired she is, refusing to go home because she was promised a dinner out with Mom.

How did she get this old?

Several times throughout the day Em commented when we would hear a little kid crying or yelling, “I thought that was Addie, Mom. But then I remembered, she’s not here with us!” And she said as we were leaving the restaurant, “It is really weird to not have Addie with us, don’t you think Mom?”

But Addie was waiting for us at the gate when we got home. She had painted a picture for each of us and happily oohed and ahhed over all of our purchases as Em pulled them out of the bags.

A bag just like Sharpay's!

But, one of my favorite moments of the day was when Em told Addie, “Next week you get to go on a date with Mommy, and you are going to get to find school stuff, and you will be so happy, and it will be just you and Mommy. And it is so much fun!”

Ready to go to school

It really is. So much fun.

9 Responses to “A Date with My Girl and the Mall”


  1. 1 carey August 15, 2008 at 4:45 am

    it sounds like you both had a wonderful time!

  2. 2 Becky August 15, 2008 at 9:00 am

    What a great day to spend the day!! The one on one time is something the kids treasure here too.

  3. 3 thelandofka August 15, 2008 at 10:46 am

    OH, that was too sweet for words! What a cutie and love your line on the HSM marketing demons LOL! I take it that is wherefrom the Sharpay reference derives?? I know nothing of HSM, thank the good and decent LORD. 🙂

    Have fun on your date with Addy next week, I’m sure it will be just as fun as your date with Em.

    I’m so looking forward to shopping with my girl, and hope she loves to shop as much as her mommy! 🙂

  4. 4 arizaphale August 16, 2008 at 6:00 am

    I loved this post. It reminded me of this one. You see, you never get too old to enjoy a shopping trip with your mum.

  5. 5 Christina August 16, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Ooof. There’s so much to say, I don’t even know where to start. My “baby” starts preschool in a couple weeks and I’m all sentimental over that; I can’t even image how you feel to see her so big and mature and sweet. She really is a sweetie. And SUCH a great big sister.

    And, I just Googled Sharpay to see who it is – with just one 2 year old, I’m not yet well versed in HSM, and I’m perfectly okay with that!

  6. 6 Kim August 16, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    What a great idea. I may have to steal it!

  7. 7 michellebeauchesne August 17, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    They are so lucky to have you both.
    Here is to fantastic parenting. They are reflecting ALL the love that you both have given them.
    Here is to the “best days ever” ! : )

  8. 8 Maya August 17, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    That sounds like a lot of fun! It also sounds like once she hits the teenage years those shopping trips could be rather expensive! HA!

  9. 9 msscatter August 18, 2008 at 4:13 am

    What a fantastic day!! I can’t believe she’s 5, ugh!


Leave a Reply

