Sunny Portrait ~ Best Shot Monday

There is just something about this photo that tugs on my heart every time I look at it.

The softness of the photo, the quiet little smile on her face, the sun glinting off of her shoulder.

It all lends to the perfect portrait of my sweet, sunny girl as she straddles that difficult line between being a toddler and becoming a “big girl.”Ā  One moment she wants to be picked up and snuggles into my shoulder so perfectly, and the very next minute she is off – running full speed – becoming a big, going-to-school, three year old.

Find out what everyone else has been touched by this past week over at Mother May I.

20 Responses to “Sunny Portrait ~ Best Shot Monday”


  1. 1 crunchy domestic goddess August 17, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    i can see why you love this one, it’s gorgeous. love her curls. šŸ™‚

  2. 2 carey August 18, 2008 at 3:55 am

    she is just so adorable. wonderful image!

  3. 3 MelodyA. August 18, 2008 at 4:17 am

    Aw, her curls. Just love them. What a cutie pie.

  4. 4 dana August 18, 2008 at 4:55 am

    I think it is those adorable blonde curls. They just scream innocence! Happy Monday.

  5. 5 Kara August 18, 2008 at 5:46 am

    I really like the lighting – and those curls are darling šŸ™‚

  6. 6 Christina August 18, 2008 at 6:42 am

    That paragraph about your sunny big/little girl…perfectly said, about Addie and Nadia. Sigh. Such a sweet portrait, with light that makes you gasp at the beauty!

  7. 7 killlashandra August 18, 2008 at 6:45 am

    Wonderful picture. I love your words going along with it. The contrast from being the big girl to wanting to snuggle is very sweet and I see it in my little boy too.

  8. 8 Tanya August 18, 2008 at 6:53 am

    *sniff*
    Mia’s on the cusp between toddler and big girl too…but I try not to think about it šŸ™‚

    Your shot is so beautiful…love the soft light, and yes, her sweet expression is as if she has a little secret. Nice šŸ™‚

  9. 9 Jen August 18, 2008 at 7:10 am

    I can see why you are in love with this photo. it is so sweet.

  10. 10 MammaDawg August 18, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    She’s so cute – I especially love how she’s holding her fingertips together and the smile of delight on her face! šŸ™‚

  11. 11 Amanda August 18, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    Absolutely precious!! I’ve been into “hands” lately – and her’s are too cute in this shot!

  12. 12 natalie August 18, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Tears….I so fully understand your sentiments. My girl is almost three and I find she’s in the same struggle. Sometimes she’ll say, “I still baby.” sometimes, “No, I do it myself. I sooo big.”

    That is a priceless picture.

  13. 13 Joanna August 18, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Sounds like we are all on the same page with our little toddlers. This definately is a sweets photo. It’s like you caught her while meandering around in her own little world.

  14. 14 Michelle Potter August 18, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Aw, what a sweet, beautiful portrait. I love little girls looking down — the curls, the eyelashes. So pretty!

  15. 15 amenthree August 18, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Did Addie get her hair cut? She looks so sweet, Bean…

  16. 16 Dawn August 18, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Oh, this is lovely. I love the little moments that cameras capture.

  17. 17 Erinne August 18, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    She is just so precious. What a darling.

  18. 18 Maya August 19, 2008 at 11:57 am

    How sweet…it is such a moment!

  19. 19 golightly August 20, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    That curly hair… gorgeous.
    How is it Summer is over and we still didn’t manage to get together?! Where does the time go?

  20. 20 Elisa August 27, 2008 at 4:49 am

    Getting caught up on Blog reading…..LOVE the photo of Addie and Em where Ad is looking up at Em by the fountain! And, the one of J walking with the girls each pulling his arms in a different direction!!! Great shots!!!


Leave a Reply

