Crafty Tuesday

I have a completely legitimate reason this week. Really, I do. I don’t have a thing to show for Crafty Tuesday, and I was also hoping to partake this week in MammaDawg’s Scrapbook Saturday, but…nope didn’t get in on that either.

BUT, like I said, I have a reason!

Somebody in our house is finally getting her wish and starting soccer. And, another somebody in our house is apparently a huge pushover and can’t say “no,” and who consequently is now the assistant coach on that soccer team.

New kicks.

Yeah, so instead of doing some fun scrapbooking this week, I’ve been trying to learn…um, well, everything about soccer so I don’t make a total fool of myself. The coach assures me that it is a great way to learn the game and totally help him out at the same time.

As he was selling me on the job, I could hear my brain telling me, “Um, hello? Let’s not do this. Let’s just hang back and see what this is all about. Maybe next year? I mean, do you even know how to play soccer?”

And then I hear my mouth saying, “Ok. Sure. Sounds good.”

Gah. My mouth is officially not allowed to answer any questions.

So I’ve been taking the AYSO coaching courses online and taking photos of my cute little soccer player, of course.

What? You don't wear your soccer cleats with your sundresses?

What? Don’t you wear your soccer cleats and shin guards with your pink sundress?

She's got moves

But hey, the girl has got some moves! She has been practicing every night since we got her all the gear. She is just so excited.

In other kinda crafty news. I am working on Addie’s birthday preparations. Yikes! I know. She is turning three in three weeks. The party is going to be Ariel themed (of course) with this fun sandcastle cake. I think we are just going to do a very simple little pool party with Addie’s two little friends. I figure with sand and water involved, the fewer kids – the better.

So when I do get the invite finished, I’ll have something for Crafty Tuesday – but from me, just excuses this week. What about you? Any crafty goodness to share?

11 Responses to “Crafty Tuesday”


  1. 1 msscatter August 19, 2008 at 4:03 am

    I was going to ask “when did you learn to play soccer, that’s not a sport that was even offered to us!”

    She’s adorable in her dress and cleats.

  2. 2 stlcardsfan10 August 19, 2008 at 4:51 am

    Soccer? Do I need to send softball stuff out there? Good luck on coaching. It really is fun.

  3. 3 Michelle Potter August 19, 2008 at 4:51 am

    Aww, she looks so adorable! I felt so bad because I had to tell my daughter no softball because she’s going to be out of state for part of the season.

  4. 4 MelodyA. August 19, 2008 at 5:00 am

    If they let her play in that dress, it will be all good!! She does have some moves. Natalya played for two years and it was a lot of fun. I still remember her first goal. I was holding Vienne cuz she was a baby and I went running along the sidelines with her. She took the ball from one end the other. Proud moment. sniff. Good times.

  5. 5 Christina August 19, 2008 at 5:29 am

    That girl sure does have the moves! I’m sure you’ll be walking, talking and dreaming soccer in no time. Ummm…yay – right? ha! Those mouths of ours really do get us into trouble!

    I copied your kitty cat party theme last year, maybe I’ll copy Ariel, too! That’s N’s favorite right now, too. But no way would a pool party work in November.

  6. 6 thelandofka August 19, 2008 at 5:30 am

    Oh, what a good mom! Kids around here usually start playing at 4…but not my kids. πŸ˜‰ I’m sure we will be getting them in soccer at some point but I’m waiting at long as possible!

    She looks adorable in her pink dress and cleats, and at least she is practicing! That’s good! Good luck with that whole assistant coaching thing. πŸ˜€

    I made a little jumper for Anya this week – whipped it up last Thursday night. It wouldn’t have taken me long if I hadn’t kept changing my mind while I was making it. Sheesh.

  7. 7 Sassy August 19, 2008 at 7:05 am

    Soccer in a dress, OH HOW CUTE!
    Hmm, they should reconsider the flimsy black shorts and go for the skirt.

    Hey, did you get my email about those dresses? The London Bridge one’s?

  8. 8 Anna August 19, 2008 at 10:35 am

    What a great mom you are! Love those shots, and seriously? Cleats come with pink on the bottom? Who knew? Not this mother of two boys!

  9. 9 Michelle August 19, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Too cute with the dress! Lovin’ it!

  10. 10 Kim August 21, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Oh my gosh – Em is the cutest little soccer player – EVER!

  11. 11 arizaphale August 25, 2008 at 4:08 am

    Hahha, love the sun dress soccer thing! I know how you feel. Same thing happened to me with netball. I didn’t even know how many players were on a team and I ended up being the COACH!!!!!!! 😦 At least you’re only the assistant πŸ™‚
    As for craftiness I finally finished the other cushion but I’m so far behind I will have to post tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

