Funky End of Summer Funk

Last week of summer. Last week of swim classes. Last week of late to bed and late to rise. Last week of freedom.

I know I have said this eleventy-billion times, but seriously…where did the summer go? I can hardly believe that it is over, maybe that is what is causing my little bit of funk this week. We are not in full-funk mode, but just one of those moods where I’d rather be doing ANYTHING other than what I should be doing. Work? Laundry? Making something that resembles meals?

Bah.

And I can tell myself that I am “just soaking up the loveliness before the real chaos starts” all I want, but the truth is, I really do need some structure, routine, an agenda – if you will. When I have a to-do list a mile long – I am superwoman. When I have a few things languishing around that should be done. I’m hopeless.

So we are just easing ourselves into our “calendar of events.” Last weekend we kicked off our soccer team practice. I didn’t make too big of a fool of myself. The stretching, running, little drills I totally have and can do. And the girls are so excited by the prospect of playing (and the pink uniforms!) that it really makes it very fun. Emma literally will not STOP with the cajoling until I get her to the park to “practice” every night.

“Can we go to practice the soccer, Mom?”
“What about now?”
“If I eat a good dinner can we go as soon as I am done? To the park? To play soccer?”
“Huh? Huh? Mom?!”

Aye. How can you say no to that face? I just wish I could say that her excitement is infectious. But you know. That funk, (see paragraph 2 above) it is totally getting in the way this week. Although I’ve managed to get some good photos of our soccer star, so it is not a total loss.

And Emma? She might really have a shot at this soccer stuff! She is far more coordinated than her mom I give her credit for!

4 Responses to “Funky End of Summer Funk”


  1. 1 Ambajam August 26, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Summer will be here again before you know it. Until then…Go #8!

    If you havenโ€™t already entered, this is the last week of our contest. All you have to do is guess. ๐Ÿ™‚
    http://blog.ambajam.com/gum-ball-contest/

  2. 2 Christina August 27, 2008 at 5:39 am

    My summer’s already over. Nadia starts school TODAY! Ooof. And I’ve got work coming out of my ears. Sigh.

    Yay for your little soccer player!

  3. 3 thelandofka August 27, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    What a cute little soccer player! Well, at least SHE is excited. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. 4 MommyBrain August 31, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Booo, summer’s over. Hopefully my vacation from the blog world is also over, though. Just catching up on all 72 posts of yours in my feed reader. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

