Straddling the line

Sneakers

I know I’ve said it before, but it really struck me tonight how fine that line is between “my baby” and “my big girl.”

While we were playing at the park I watched Addie chasing after Em and Em’s friend, trying to keep up, so trying to be a big girl. They were exploring in the bushes and finding secret hiding spots and I could just see her looking up admiringly at the two older girls and seeking their approval and acceptance.

And then, mere minutes later, she came running up, sat down next to me, and put her head in my lap. She looked up at me, smiled and said, “Can we go home and can you carry me?”

So I scooped her up and we headed home. She settled into my shoulder, sighed and said, “I love you, Mama.” “I love you too, baby,” I murmured into her hair expecting a protest from me using the word “baby.”

She snuggled in a little closer and said, “I is your baby, right Mama?”

Oh, yes. You “is.”

10 Responses to “Straddling the line”


  1. 1 MelodyA. August 29, 2008 at 3:18 am

    We have the same exact thing going on here. It breaks my heart to watch V get left behind. But I dont’ want her to be up there with the big kids yet.

  2. 2 Bunny August 29, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Sigh.
    I *get it*, what all those mothers of teenagers have been telling us–it goes so quickly.

  3. 3 carey August 29, 2008 at 4:08 am

    awwww! those snuggles are the best!

    i often hear, “i’m not a baby, mama!” but then i tell her she’ll always be my baby, even when she’s big and grown up. and then she smiles like she gets what i’m saying. i think she still wants to be my baby too but can’t admit it!

  4. 4 thelandofka August 29, 2008 at 5:40 am

    That is so sweet! Love the shot, too. 🙂

    I love how sometimes they want to be big, but then they still want to be your little girl. Last night I was carrying Anya home, too, after a walk around the lake. 🙂

  5. 5 Maggie August 29, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Oh, that is too sweet! And like Stacy said, I love the shot too — it’s perfect for this post!

  6. 6 Christina August 29, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Oh gosh, yes. We are right there, too…straddling that line between babyhood and big girlhood. Sigh. Yesterday I called her my big girl, and she said “no, today I am your baby, mama.”

    That’s fine by me.

    PERFECT photo for this post!

  7. 7 Michelle Potter August 29, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    So sweet! A while back I was snuggling with my 4yo and my 3yo, and I called them my babies. My 4yo son insisted he wasn’t a baby, but my daughter said, “I’m your baby, mama.” Love those moments!

  8. 8 Kim August 30, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Awwww…

    I totally thought those were Emma’s feet. Until I started reading.

  9. 9 golightly September 1, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    My heart is gushing onto the floor! I SO understand that. Almost verbatim.

    On a side note, the picture reminds me that Harrison’s black high tops are now too small and he was very put out by that the other day. Guess I have to go buy some new shoes!

  10. 10 Maya September 1, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Oh this tugs on me…Zane is sleeping with his crib converted for the first night and I don’t know if I can go to sleep! They get older so fast.


Leave a Reply

