T minus 18 hours…

We went to Em’s school last night for a “little welcome to the school/ice cream social/meet the teachers and PTA” all rolled into one.

I like Em’s teachers, they seem very nice. There are two girls in Em’s class that she already knows (one from the park, one from soccer) and we got to peek into her classroom.  We went to bed even earlier last night and woke Em up even earlier this morning. So it all seems under control.

Except I can just feel the emotions bubbling up, right under the surface, ready to spring forth. I keep telling everyone that it is not a big deal – she is really only going from her 3-afternoons a week preschool, to 5-mornings a week kindergarten. Should be no problem at all, right? I am really worried about dropping Addie off next week, that is the one that I thought I would have a hard time with.

But as we are sitting listening to the principal speaking last night about how committed everyone there is to making sure the students have a great experience, I got that tight feeling in my throat, again.

And then he had last years Student Council President (they have those in Elementary school???) get up, and a few other fifth and sixth graders, to talk about the school and wish the k-garteners good luck and I got a little teary.

They were so composed and all spoke so well in front of the crowd of their peers and parents. It was really impressive.

All I could envision is Em standing there in a few years doing the same thing. And I don’t know if it was the thought of her that “grown-up” or the thought of her being so well-adjusted and smart, or a combination of both – but I had to turn away and get a bit of a grip.

This may be harder than I had thought.

3 Responses to “T minus 18 hours…”


  1. 1 MelodyA. September 3, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Big step for you, huh mom? It’ll be hard but be proud as well. She will.

  2. 2 ksmcnulty September 3, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Care, I feel your feelings. It’s hard to let our babies go—yet a little easier b/c they’re so excited. Each day will get easier and before you know it you’ll be wondering how those hours she’s or they’re (when Ad gets into her routine) gone could have flown by so fast. Will be thinking of you tomorrow.

  3. 3 Christina September 7, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Oh! It really is a big thing – for you AND her. Kindergarten is what I’m afraid of. Preschool I could handle, because it’s not madatory, it’s “just for fun”….but k-garten? Yeah, that’ll be hard.


Leave a Reply

