Good Book Hunting

Further proof that the girl is mine. (As if you needed further proof!)

The minute she got home from school and realized that those Scholastic Fair Book flyers were full of BOOKS(!), that you can BUY(!), she sat down and poured over all four flyers for well over an hour.

Carefully contemplating the merits of Corduroy versus a new Junie B. chapter book. Cautiously circling the ones she wanted, editing her choices when she found a more intriguing book. She even picked out a few that “I think Addie will want.”

Good Book Hunting

I remember doing the exact same thing when I was little.

There is nothing better than cheap, good books. Ok, except maybe cheap, good shoes?

8 Responses to “Good Book Hunting”


  1. 1 Elisa September 8, 2008 at 9:49 am

    AWESOME!!! Love Scholastic Books – what treasures! How wonderful that she gets such joy out of books!!!

  2. 2 Stacy September 8, 2008 at 10:03 am

    We get those at daycare, too. I have yet to order a book, but mostly because they have so many books that are good that they don’t want to read. Please Family, no more noisemaker books!

  3. 3 Christina September 8, 2008 at 10:53 am

    I love it – I remember doing the same thing!!! A love of reading really is one of the best things we can give our girls…and it looks like it’s stuck for Em!

  4. 4 MammaDawg September 8, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    It’s the same over here – I’m a little sneaky and tell my son he can put his book order together only after all his homework and chores are completed. 😉

    Best part is – he’s using his allowance for the books! Finally – a way to get him to learn how to save. 🙂

  5. 5 Maggie September 8, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Oh I LOVED those flyers when I was little. And if I remember correctly, I rarely got to get anything from them. But oh, when I did….

  6. 6 Maggie September 8, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    And it’s too bad that getting books from school isn’t nearly as exciting anymore. Or nearly as cheap. 😦

  7. 7 Colleen September 8, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    I LOVE those book flyers. When I was teaching 2nd grade… (and even when I was working administration in day care) I would do the exact same thing. We have so many books that I’ve bought myself over the years that I’m now afraid of what will happen when Zoe starts bringing home the flyers.

  8. 8 golightly September 13, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Gosh I remember doing that with those book fliers too. Harrison has some of the books from my Scholastic flier days!

    I STILL pour over them! Now I just look for books for Harrison – but I don’t buy them yet.


Leave a Reply

