An Addison Rose by any other name…

…well she is just as sweet, no matter what we call her. And today we can officially call her our big 3-year old girl.

Dear Addison Rose,

You are three. Which is so weird to write because for the last four or five months I have had to keep reminding everyone (including myself) that you were only two, not yet three! You just often times seem so much wiser than your three wee years. But now we can finally add our “big 3-year old” to the ever-expanding list of nicknames for you.

DSC_0177.jpg

When you were born, even though you were a very, very big 8lb. 8oz. (remind me to thank you for that someday, by the way!), Daddy looked at you and said, “Wow, she is just so tiny!” You had these scrawny little legs and toes and everything about you seemed, well…tiny! And when you came home from the hospital Emma picked up on Tiny and she would call you my “tiny baby sis.” So from then on, we have always just called you Tiny. Usually this works to your advantage. Since we will always consider you the baby of the family, I think you are given much more leeway than your sister was on a good many things. But I guess since she gets the glory in being the “first” you get the advantage of being the “baby.”

DSC_0008.jpg

I already knew when Daddy named you Addison that we would end up nicknaming you Addie. And Addie is what most people know you as. For people just meeting you for the first time they might think that you are shy and a little bit of a Momma’s girl. You ask to be picked up and hide your face in my shoulder whenever you are in a situation that makes you the least bit uncomfortable. But once you have the lay of the land, the true Addie really shines. And I do mean shine.

When you are well rested, fed, and the planets are aligned, you are the sunniest, funniest and absolute most pleasant child to be around. You have your Daddy’s good sense of humor, you have Mommy’s crazy expressions, and I think you take great pleasure in making people laugh. I have video after video of me just laughing at you – and all you are doing is laughing, with that crazy, infectious giggle of yours. It is one of my favorite sounds.

DSC_0120.jpg

Daddy calls you Rosey-Toesy, which many times he will shorten to Rosey, Roses, Toesy or just Toes. When you are our little Rosey Toesy you could be mistaken for an elite gymnast in the Preschool Olympics. You will hang on everything that will hold your little wiggling body, fling your body off of the sofa, or scream “more flippy upside dooown!” as Daddy flips you over and over, repeatedly. Or you can be found very solemnly telling Daddy, “no more tickles, Daddy” as you cuddle up with him and then the next minute you are squealing “Yes, tickle me Daddy!”

DSC_0764.jpg

You have a very serious side to you as well. Sometimes you will be off playing and I have to listen for you talking to your kitties/pollys/babies, or try to catch you humming or singing just so I know where you are. You can entertain yourself completely for well over an hour. I’ll come in and say, “What you doing, Addikins?” And you’ll just reply, “Nufin, Mama. I’m just playin here. You want to play with me, Mama? You can be Cinderella?” It is so impossible to turn down an invitation like that. To be included in your little world.

Obviously Emma is the only one who calls you Little Sis, and I honestly think this may be the most important role to you. Emma continues to be the one person who can influence you like nobody else can. Although you have started to figure out that you don’t have to do everything Emma tells you to, and there have been a few more disagreements lately. But, for the most part, Emma still stands as your favorite playmate and your best friend.

DSC_0199.jpg

I think those moments when I end up using the nickname Lovebug, or just Bug, are my all-time favorite moments with you, though. We could have suffered through a complete meltdown and you’ll come off of the timeout step, climb on my lap, cuddle up and whisper “I love you, Mama.” The rest of the world just fades away as I soak in your sweet heart-shaped face, your big eyes, and your content little smile. Tantrum? What tantrum? All I see is my little loving Bug who loves me unconditionally even when we clearly do not see eye to eye.

You are a complicated little creature, that is for sure. But I am thankful every single day that I get to witness you growing up. I look forward to uncovering all of the different facets of Addie, and loving each and every one of them.

DSC_0270.jpg

I hope you have an amazing year, Tiny-Rosey Toes-Lovebug-Addie-Addikins.
Happy Birthday.
I love you,
Mama

16 Responses to “An Addison Rose by any other name…”


  1. 1 Matthew September 9, 2008 at 3:49 am

    Don’t make me tear up at work…I have a reputation to uphold!

    Seriously, what a tribute to your adorable little girl. She’s such a cutie!

  2. 2 ksmcnulty September 9, 2008 at 4:03 am

    Happy 3rd Miss Addie Ro! Wow, I remember both the afternoon your mommy called me to tell me YOU were a girl and then the afternoon to tell me YOU were here! Have a Great Year little one!

  3. 3 Vicky September 9, 2008 at 4:26 am

    Happy birthday Addie!

  4. 4 carey September 9, 2008 at 5:24 am

    happy 3rd birthday addie!

  5. 5 Aunt Laura September 9, 2008 at 6:04 am

    A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Addie. You are such a BIG GIRL now. Have a great day.

  6. 6 nana September 9, 2008 at 6:49 am

    Happy Happy Birthday Addie…. I can’t believe that you are already three years old. I hope that you have a great day. Hugs and Kisses to a great granddaughter.
    Love you lots
    Nana

  7. 7 papastan September 9, 2008 at 7:57 am

    I’m not sure if it’s the quality of the writing, (you really have a way with words), or the quality of the subject matter, but the tribute to Addie is beautiful, and will be so wonderful to reread in years to come.

    Happy Birthday Addison, we love you.

    Papa

  8. 8 thelandofka September 9, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Happy birthday Addie! Beautiful tribute to her Carrie and beautiful pictures of your darling little girl. 🙂 If it weren’t for the fact that our girls are very much OUR girls, I would swear they are twins. Anya has so many of Addie’s personality traits, too. 🙂

  9. 9 MGF September 9, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    There was a tear in my eye. Such beautiful words.
    And all the nicknames I just love names of affection within a family.

  10. 10 stlcardsfan10 September 9, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Happy Birthday Ms. Addison-
    Congrats on turning the big 3. We miss you and hope to see you sometime soon.

    The Newman Clan

  11. 12 Cara September 9, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Happy Birthday Addie!
    I almost read this at work but had to leave, so glad I waited till I got home, running for a tissue.

  12. 13 Kim September 9, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Is it the 9th already? Really???? How did that sneak up on me?????

    Happy Happy Happy Birthday Addison!!!!! I can’t believe it’s been three years!!!

    What a beautiful little, um,… I mean big girl you are becoming!

  13. 14 Christina September 9, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Oh sweetest Addikins! Happy Birthday! Carrie, I have a lump in my throat almost as if it’s my own little girl turning three. What a beautiful tribute to your beautiful girl. *tear!* Her bubbly personality and the vibrant love come shining through.

    And, I think my little gal could be the third member of the Addie and Anya trio. So much is so similar to Nadia!

  14. 15 Colleen September 9, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Happy Birthday Addie!!!

    Oh Carrie, what a truly beautiful post. Very possibly one of my all time favorites. How is it possible that our little tiny girls are getting so very big?

  15. 16 MommyBrain September 10, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    That was such a beautiful birthday message. I can’t believe she’s 3. Happy Birthday, Addie and congrats Carrie on 3 whole years as a mom of two!


Leave a Reply

