Addie’s Day

So, the kick-off to “Addie week” was a hit, I think.

She woke up to a little outdoor birthday card this morning…

Happy Birthday Addie Wishes

And a new water & sand table, which she enjoyed all day long and is already making plans with for tomorrow morning…

The new sand/water table

She opened up a few other presents before breakfast, too. Including a very funny cat card which meows to the tune of “Happy Birthday.” It has also provided endless entertainment today…

Funny birthday wishes

I asked her if she wanted a cupcake this morning, I figured it was the one day a year that she should be able to have dessert for breakfast. And what did my little sugar bear say?

“Oh, Mama. Maybe I can have one after I eat my lunch!”

I guess I can’t argue with that very practical logic, can I?

And then it was time to head off to her school for our visitation day. She insisted on wearing her new kitty rain boots that we got her for her birthday. I did manage to convince her to leave the umbrella home. At least the boots matched her dress, and they came in handy since she did find a few “sprinkler puddles” to slosh through on our way to school…

Ready for school

She was so excited to have a backpack “just like Emma” and made me put a snack in her bag too…just like Emma.

THE new backpack

I actually didn’t take my camera to her school. (Gasp! I know!!) I figured that I would get plenty of pictures of her official first day on Thursday, and honestly, I just wanted to enjoy our hour there and not have to feel like I was documenting everything.

In the end it was the right choice. And I am more and more convinced that Ad’s school is going to be a fantastic place for her. I love hanging out there just as much as she does! And her teachers could not be more loving and caring.

I already had a good feeling about them from when I had met them before, but when we arrived today they both squatted down to Addie’s level and immediately asked her about her new boots. They just have a way with little kids – it is pretty obvious just from watching them. Within seconds Addie was chatting them up like they were long lost friends and was showing them her backpack, pulling out her Ariel for them to hold, and offering them some of her snack.

Me thinks she is going to do just fine on Thursday.

Whether Mommy is going to do as well is still up for debate.

13 Responses to “Addie’s Day”


  1. 1 Maggie September 10, 2008 at 2:59 am

    She is too cute! What a great way to start out a birthday — I love it!

  2. 2 ksmcnulty September 10, 2008 at 3:50 am

    So sweet and so PROUD!!! So much happening all in 2 days—you turn 3 and you get to go to school, too! I hope today goes well and mama figures out something to do with herself for 2 whole mommy hours!

  3. 3 Aunt Vicki September 10, 2008 at 4:07 am

    She sure doesn’t look like she is only 3! SO glad to hear school went so well! Quite a day — birthday and first day of school all wrapped in one! She is adorable! Aunt Vicki

  4. 4 MelodyA. September 10, 2008 at 4:29 am

    Isn’t she the prettiest in pink birthday girl ever! Hope that your celebration is the sweetest.

  5. 5 carey September 10, 2008 at 5:28 am

    oooooooooooh! the picture of her with the card is just TOO CUTE!!!
    she will have a great first day of school and so will you! 🙂

  6. 6 Matthew September 10, 2008 at 6:06 am

    That dress is adorable. Happy Birthday, Addie!

  7. 7 Vicky September 10, 2008 at 9:28 am

    The boots do match the dress perfectly! What a great day!!! (good luck tomorrow)

  8. 8 Cara September 10, 2008 at 10:28 am

    I love the boots with the dress and backpack! She looks like she is so proud to be carrying that backpack.

  9. 10 Christina September 10, 2008 at 11:51 am

    She really is almost the cutest kid ever…but only *almost* since my kiddo holds that title. 🙂 Her smiles are just so charming. Love the huge birthday card, love the kitty backpack and boots. And love that her first day of school was on her third birthay – how perfect!

    P.S. You have the best taste in little girl clothes…they are always dressed so cute!

  10. 11 MommyBrain September 10, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    I love that dress, she looks adorable. Wow, preschool.

  11. 12 thelandofka September 11, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    Well, aren’t you just mom of the year! I love the sidewalk chalk birthday card. It really was her special day and she looks so so so ADORABLE. As always, of course. 🙂

  12. 13 bluesunrisephotography September 11, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    What a touching post. I am glad to know I am not the only mom taking “first day of school” shots. I absolutely adore the last picture! So precious.


Leave a Reply

