Crafty Tuesday

Prepare for the whining and excuses to begin. Starting….

Now.

I can’t believe I am going to even post this photo and call it my Crafty thing for the week. And not only do I deem it “not very crafty,” it is a horrible photo as well. But it is all I have time or energy for right now. So you get what you get.

While we were at Em’s soccer game on Saturday, the other team had really cute little matching ponytail holder thingys, made with ribbons of their team colors and also some cool ribbons with little soccer balls on it. When we were shaking hands with them, I slyly checked out how they were put together (it wasn’t too hard to be sneaky, most of them were 3 1/2 feet tall, so I just looked like I was leering at the top of their heads, that is not too creepy, right?).

So Em and I went to the fabric store and got pink, black, white ribbon – but they were out of the soccer ball ribbon. Apparently there are some die-hard, crafty, soccer moms out there who thought about all of this BEFORE the season started. So I’m still searching for soccer ribbon, but Em and I attempted to make a trial one tonight.

Really should have had Em model it for the photos because it really does look cute when it is on. Only need to make 5 more before Saturday.

While we were at the fabric store the girls picked out their Halloween costumes, too. Well, the patterns for them, hopefully, God willing, we will be able to feature an Alice in Wonderland and an Ariel costume here on Crafty Tuesday some time in the next month!

I’m afraid the material around these parts is going to be very, very light again this week. I’ll try to throw up a few photos to tie you all over. It isn’t for lack of blog material, oh there is PLENTY of that around here, but I have a few big projects going on, a babysitter who is out of the country (yes, she is home trying to get a visa to get back here!), and some other big stuff going on that I just can’t get into right now. But I will be back, don’t give up on me just yet!

Maybe someone else has some true craftiness to share with all of us today?

9 Responses to “Crafty Tuesday”


  1. 1 thelandofka September 23, 2008 at 6:21 am

    That is cute! Good luck on getting your costumes completed, too. I’m sure they will be super PURTY! 🙂

    Today I just have a baby blanket that has already been delivered. I have more stuff to photograph, but no energy to do it.

  2. 2 carey September 23, 2008 at 8:52 am

    those are cute! i can’t wait to see those on the girls!

    i haven’t been crafty in so long i may have forgotten how…. bean however is super crafty. hmmmm, maybe if i have time i’ll snap some pics of her crafty goodness and post those……. 🙂

  3. 3 carey September 23, 2008 at 8:53 am

    oh! and any ideas on how to make a flamingo costume?? bean WANTS to be a flamingo for halloween and i’m at a loss….

  4. 4 carrievoris September 23, 2008 at 9:49 am

    A FLAMINGO!! I love it! Addie is fascinated with flamingos, too!

    I love this costume, and I think it would be pretty easy to make?
    http://www.buycostumes.com/Flamingo-Child-Costume/21168/ProductDetail.aspx

    Black leotard & tights. I wonder if you couldn’t even use that big pink craft paper instead of fabric for the body, and just stuff it with newspaper to keep it’s shape, or fabric I guess if she wants to use it over and over and OVER again like our costumes seem to be used.

    I think if you did it in 3 parts, the body, the neck and then the head, it would be manageable. I’ll keep thinking on it though…

    Anybody have any ideas to help little Bean become a flamingo??

  5. 5 Christina September 24, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Ooooh, those costumes will be so cute!!!!! Wanna make a third one for N??? I must have been absent when sewing talents were handed out…I can’t seew at all. Her choice of costume was changing on a daily basis, but now it’s settled into PRINCESS! What a surprise. 😉

  6. 6 Cara September 24, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Those are cute. I can’t believe you are going to make their Halloween costumes, I am so thankful for the Disney Store!
    We won’t give up on you! Keep the crafty coming when you can.

  7. 7 Elisa September 24, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Those ribbons look adorable tied to plain ol’ flip flops, too! Have seen dance teams do that! Caution if you do it – Don’t make those ribbons too long or they drag on the ground and a) fray and/or b) get filthy. I suppose flip flop season is coming to a close though…..well, maybe for the spring league! 🙂

  8. 8 MommyBrain September 25, 2008 at 8:50 am

    I think the hair things are very crafty. Especially since you figured out the design without directions. And wow with the sewing your own costumes!

  9. 9 carey September 27, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    i think that costume is cute!
    i actually was thinking about making a fluffy pink skirt and getting her a pink turtle neck shirt and some tights. i just need to figure out how to make the beak…. but that hood in the costume you linked to would work. i will have to study that and see what i can do!
    thanks for the help!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

