Crafty Tuesday

I owe so much of my “craftiness” to my mom. I think I inherited some of her artistic genes and the rest I absorbed through osmosis by just growing up around her. Although the cake decorating does still allude me. I must have been doing too much of the tasting of the frosting – and not enough observing because I still cannot manage to decorate a decent cake.

But flowers, and putting together bouquets – that I do have “down.”Β  My mom and I did the flowers for my wedding, my sister’s wedding, my brother’s wedding…and a whole bunch of other ones. Plus, I love flowers, and a chance to play with them? Yeah, that is really fun for me. When I used to work in San Francisco we used to visit the flower mart every few weeks and I’ve always loved having fresh flowers in the house.

Last week I got to visit the LA flower mart. Holy flowers, Batman! It was overwhelming, to say the least. But we found a lot of roses for cheap and put together some simple, elegant bouquets for Debby and the girls and boutineers for the guys. (This is the last of the wedding photos, I promise!)

debby's bouquet

For Debby’s bouquet we just used 2 dozen cream colored roses and wrapped them up with ribbon. The roses were (are!) stunning with just a touch of pink to them. They still look amazing on my dining room table!

crafty_flowers.jpg

And for the guys and the girl’s bouquets we used yellow roses with a little bit of baby’s breath. Did I mention that I really loved doing the flowers? Hmmm…maybe if this gig I have going on doesn’t work out, I could adopt wedding florist as a new career.

flower girl bouquets

And for my next crafty endeavor…I will be attempting to make the girls’ Halloween costumes. We visited the fabric store today and it was so fun to watch Em and Ad – they were like kids in a candy store. Of course they picked out the most expensive, silkiest, glittery-est fabric for their costumes. Between the time I will be spending making these costumes, and the extravagant wishes of my “Project Runway wannabe” girls, these are going to be some seriously expensive costumes. So help me, they had just better turn out.

costumes!

Anyone else have some craftiness to share today?

12 Responses to “Crafty Tuesday”


  1. 1 Adventure Mother October 14, 2008 at 1:33 am

    Those flowers look fabulous. Makes me feel like getting married again – to my husband of course!

  2. 2 MelodyA. October 14, 2008 at 3:41 am

    I have never even been able to arrange a bouquet in a vase to save my life. It amazes me because I have a good eye. Just not my thing? Can’t wait to see costumes!! I’ve been meaning to join your Crafty Tuesdays…

  3. 3 Millennium Housewife October 14, 2008 at 4:11 am

    I think I may need to hire you, would you like to come and live in our spare room in the UK? Over from Tara’s MH

  4. 4 msscatter October 14, 2008 at 4:31 am

    You did a beautiful job. Your talent is constantly amazing me!

  5. 5 killlashandra October 14, 2008 at 5:18 am

    Your wedding bouquets turned out beautifully. Flower arranging is a great talent. πŸ™‚

  6. 6 thelandofka October 14, 2008 at 5:54 am

    Wonderful job on the flowers – they look so professionally done! I think you do have an option for another career if you so wish. πŸ™‚ I love flowers, too. I have been cutting my big pink dahlias to put on my dining room table while they last. I’m afraid this week they may finally get smoked by the frost. 😦

    I have some scrapbooking up today. I haven’t done anything crafty the last few weeks, so thank goodness I have some projects in the bag! πŸ˜‰

    I’m working on my girl’s costume, too. You are right…you don’t save money when they have such expensive tastes LOL! I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  7. 7 Christina October 14, 2008 at 10:13 am

    You definitely do have a knack for floral arranging – add it to the list of possible career options including graphic designer extraordinaire and photographer! And I imagine I’ll add seamstress to the list once I see the finished Halloween creations. They can’t help but be gorgeous with those fabrics!

  8. 8 Cara October 15, 2008 at 10:13 am

    The flowers are amazing. My mother did my flowers for my wedding with simple rose bouquets as well. I think simple id beautiful.
    I can’t wait to see you Project Runway Halloween costumes. The wait is killing me!

  9. 9 Kim October 15, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    The flowers are lovely. Good luck with the costumes. I’m going to attempt to make the kids’ costumes this year too…. only I’m not making them from scratch.

  10. 10 arizaphale October 16, 2008 at 5:41 am

    So professional! You must be really pleased with them. I take my hat off to you and other flower arrangers. It’s one of the skills I plan to develop in retirement (hahah). I can’t do it myself but I sure recognise good work when I see it!!! For my wedding to himself we just went down to the flower markets as you did. I had no preconceived ideas about flowers or colours this time and I just wanted simple. The florist said he knew just the thing, went to the fridge and sure enough there were exactly three bunches left which was exactly how many we needed for my bouquet! It was amazing to watch him deftly remove all the thorns and bundle the whole thing into a bouquet in abot 5 minutes flat!!! What skill. I particularly love the yellow roses with Addies’ green sash. Stunning.

  11. 12 MommyBrain October 16, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Those flowers look great and you could definitely be a wedding florist. All of your pics of the wedding were great so maybe you could become the only wedding florist & photographer in the country.


Leave a Reply

