Not So Wordless Wednesday

I have only taken two photos this week due to the illness that has taken over the house. I forgot how pretty much the whole world just stops when one of your kids gets really, really sick.

We have been having some wee morning struggles with Addie since Nena left. Before Nena and Bill came to visit we converted Addie’s toddler bed to the full-size bed so that we could use it for company. So she slept wonderfully on the trundle in Em’s room while they were here, but now that she is back in her room? Not so much. Every night about 2:20am she sneaks into my room and tries to get me to “just sleep with me, Mama.”

So Monday morning when she was still sleeping at 7:48am, I was rejoicing. Trying to figure out how to get Em to school (J. had to leave early) – should I just run over there and let Ad sleep – but I was rejoicing nonetheless. Addie was sleeping!

She got up about 2 minutes before Em had to be to school, so I threw a dress on her and she walked over with us. And then I got the bright idea to do my workout. So I packed her up into the stroller with cereal, milk, pollys, blanket, bear and a big blanket to snuggle her all in – and went for a run. She seemed completely fine, chattering away about everything like always. It was a pretty uneventful run.

When we got home she curled up on the sofa while I did my strength DVD. I had opened a window because I was so hot, and I peeked up at Addie and she was sitting on the sofa, literally shivering.

I scooped her up and realized that she was really warm, took her temperature and proceeded to feel like the crummiest Mom ever. She had a serious fever. In my defense, I don’t think she had it when i was tucking her into the stroller, but I can’t help but feel crappy if she had it while I was out trying to squeeze a run in.

So I went into caregiver mode and tried to “baby” her all day long. It didn’t help that she refused to take any sort of medicine for the crazy fever. Every little bit I did manage to get into her, she promptly puked back up.

Mostly she just slept. Off and on, all day long. So I cleaned around her and took photos of her. Because even sick and demanding, she is so very sweet.

Sick day

And another…

Still sick...

Yep. She is on a totally different sofa (the other one was being fumigated!) with totally different jammies (the others were being burned).

Tuesday when she woke up she was a little warm – her fever was gone but I wanted to make sure, so I kept her home from school another day. She was really not happy with the decision. And by 10am when she was running around like a little banshee, clearly feeling fine, I was cursing the decision as well. But, thankfully, she is feeling better.

Now please pray it doesn’t go through the whole household.

15 Responses to “Not So Wordless Wednesday”


  1. 1 ksmcnulty October 22, 2008 at 3:05 am

    I’m so glad Addie is feeling better. I love the sleeping pics! And yes, sending a prayer your way that the fever does not start a domino effect.

  2. 2 carey October 22, 2008 at 3:39 am

    she’s so pretty when she sleeps! glad she is feeling better!

  3. 3 Vicky October 22, 2008 at 4:38 am

    Poor little thing! but you are right, she sure looks precious laying there sleeping.

  4. 4 MommyBrain October 22, 2008 at 5:59 am

    Oh, poor Addie. Use lots of disinfecting wipes and I’ll send you healthy vibes from the east coast.

  5. 5 michellebeauchesne October 22, 2008 at 6:23 am

    You are right……. when they get sick it feels like the whole world needs to stop so that we can get them better. These pictures are just gorgeous and I laughed hard about the rotating couches and fumigating pj’s.
    So happy that she is better. It is amazing at how fast a flu can come on.
    Welcome to a new day.

  6. 6 Christina October 22, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Awww, poor little Addie! That first photo is oh so sweet – those golden curls and folded hands really make her look angelic.

    We’ve got the same thing going on here. Well, no fever but N is home sick from school today. Cough, runny nose, weepy eyes, just kinda out of it. I SO could have used the day off since I have the same thing! She really just needs to sleep, but for some reason she thinks it’s better to be awake and whiny. Hmmm.

  7. 7 Maggie October 22, 2008 at 8:36 am

    I’m glad that she is feeling better — what a bummer to be so sick! But with the running around, it sounds like she is back to 100%…I will cross my fingers that she didn’t share that sickness of hers with anyone else in the house!

  8. 8 Maya October 22, 2008 at 9:10 am

    I hope she’s feeling better. Poor thing! We had the stomach flu go through our house…all I can say is nasty!

  9. 9 susiej October 22, 2008 at 9:32 am

    I hope she feels better. Such beautiful, precious shots.

  10. 10 thelandofka October 22, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Have you Lysoled everything?? She is very cute even sick, but I really hope the rest of the house is unaffected. Poor little girl!

  11. 11 Cara October 22, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Poor Addie, but you are right she is so cute even sick. I am glad she is better, we had Hand Foot and Mouth over here at Mia Due Bambini. Fever for 48 hrs, that results in a rash.

  12. 12 MelodyA. October 22, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Hope she’s still doing better. It really is just awful when they get sick. I just feel for their little bodies, trying to cope with all of the yuckiness.

  13. 13 MGF October 23, 2008 at 12:30 am

    AAAhhhhh- I will hope that she is the only one who is going to feel bad.

    Hopefully tomorrow looks up.

  14. 14 arizaphale October 24, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    You would not be the first who has ‘forced’ their kid into something only to find later that she was sick as a dog 😦 Ah well, it builds character!


  1. 1 Randomness of the laziest kind « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on November 19, 2008 at 7:56 pm

Leave a Reply

