Create ~ Theme Thursday

Again, good intentions…not enough time. Stacy’s theme today was create, and while I have been busy creating some Halloween costumes, I did not get to create the “art” that I have had floating around in my head for the past month or so.

I use Photoshop and Illustrator nearly every day for my “real job,” so when I want to create for myself I usually gravitate towards tactile, non-computer stuff, like scrapbooking, painting or sewing. I saw a series of prints a few months ago that I wanted to rip-off borrow the idea from and re-create it in Illustrator. So when I saw Stacy’s idea this week, I was psyched. I was finally going to get a chance to sit down and do it. But my own procrastination of all of the other things that needed to get done, simply didn’t leave me with enough time to do it.

However, I am happy to report that all of the Halloween costumes are finished, pressed and anxiously awaiting two little goblins. But, I’m going to save those beauties for Crafty Tuesday next week.

I will leave you a few photos with some creations from Em’s school carnival.

Wow...that looks cool!

Best friends

Flower power

15 Responses to “Create ~ Theme Thursday”


  1. 2 thelandofka October 30, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Oh the girls look like a couple of beautiful fairies! Love the face painting.

    Glad to hear your costumes are completed – that is a good feeling! I’m looking forward to seeing them next week. šŸ™‚

  2. 3 megan October 30, 2008 at 7:02 am

    wow, i’ve never seen such sparkly face painting…probably b/c i have boys ;). can’t wait to see the costumes.

  3. 4 Jen October 30, 2008 at 7:22 am

    I can’t wait to see the costumes. That is some really cool face painting.

  4. 5 Jaimee October 30, 2008 at 9:04 am

    WOW…that is some awesome face painting!! I always have so many ideas floating around in my head that I want to create…but, WAY to little time to do it….I guess I need to start keeping a notebook of my ideas so, one day, when the kiddos are in school, hopefully, I will have time to do some of it!

  5. 6 MGF October 30, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Love the processing. Makes the detail really show.

  6. 7 killlashandra October 30, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Adorable face painting! Whoever was in charge of that at the carnival did an excellent job. They look quite the adorable fairies, rather than goblins. šŸ˜‰

  7. 8 golightly October 30, 2008 at 10:38 am

    wow that is some impressive face painting. I love the picture of Em and her friend. You’re going to have to give me some tips on Illustrator. I have it now but haven’t had time for the learning curve. (In fact I just got the upgrade to CS4 yesterday)

  8. 9 HeadGaggler October 30, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Great paint. Love the pictures. Can’t wait to see the Halloween costumes too.

  9. 10 Christina October 30, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Hey, you did better than me! I didn’t even participate in TT this week. AND, I didn’t make any Halloween costumes – can’t wait to see them!!

    Those are two of the cutest little fairies I’ve ever seen, and some of the coolest face paint ever. Wow!

  10. 11 Joanna October 30, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    O M G – I just love those painted faces. They are so beautiful. The stars and sparkles are so neat. Procrastination? Um yup. I hear ya!

  11. 12 kim October 30, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Cute! Very cool face painting.

  12. 13 Maggie October 31, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Wow! Now that is a seriously fancy face painting!

  13. 14 arizaphale October 31, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Oh now you see? THAT is real face painting! Wait a minute while I get my paints out and practice on my arm again……I reckon I could do that pink one…:-)

  14. 15 Maya November 3, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Those stars are cool! I have never seen face painting like that before!


Leave a Reply

