Yes We Can!

How amazing is our country?

I know I am in the minority among my family and a few of my very closest friends with my continued support of Barack Obama, but no matter what your political beliefs, you have to be very proud to be an American tonight.

What an incredible, historic, and memorable moment. I feel so overwhelmed and so full of hope that we are turning a corner and back on track to making this country the very best it can be.

The very coolest part of this entire day, and past few weeks was sharing it and using it as a teaching moment with Emma. We talked about how important it was for everyone to have their own opinion. Just because people think differently or vote differently from us, it isn’t wrong but rather what makes living in America so great.

This morning she helped me vote and proudly wore her “I voted” sticker all day and learned what a privilege it is to be able to vote. And tonight she sat with me and watched the states turn blue or red, learned a little about time zones, geography, and the electoral college. And a few minutes ago I snuck upstairs to tell her that Obama had been elected.

She sat up and said “Obama is our president?”
“Yep, enough people think he is going to be a good president, he got enough votes,” I said.
“Wow! That is pretty cool, huh Mama?”

Yes, it really is “pretty cool.”

The hope is alive. Yes, we can.

15 Responses to “Yes We Can!”


  1. 2 Jamie Sei November 4, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    I have never been prouder of my country!

  2. 3 carey November 4, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    ah yes!

    you know, i wasn’t sure i would ever see an african american elected president in my life….
    🙂

  3. 4 Becky November 4, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    This is definately an election that will go down in History! I had a strong feeling for months that Obama would be elected tonight. I am excited and anxious to see where his leadership will take this country. I believe we are all ready for change. I think good things are to come.

    It’s such an honor to be an American!

    -Becky

  4. 5 MommyBrain November 4, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Woo-hoo! You’re so lucky to live on the west coast. I’m exhausted but too excited to sleep. And, it’ll be a very long time before my kids are old enough to stay up until 11pm to watch the results. Of course, my kids don’t care, they just like saying “O-bam-AA!”

  5. 6 michellebeauchesne November 4, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Can you hear me crying in happiness!
    It is TIME for CHANGE for TOLERANCE, and for ACCEPTANCE. It is time for TRUTH and not to live in denial.
    Go OBAMA – we knew you were going to do it!
    Here is to ……………….. the better future for all of us.
    It is the best day ever.

  6. 7 Elisa November 5, 2008 at 4:18 am

    It is a great day to be an American. Maybe his hope will stem the tide of unwarranted criticism of this country by our own countrymen. This country has its faults – they all do – but I wouldn’t want to live anywhere but the good ol’ US of A. As a nation we should spend more time in gratitude for the blessings we have instead of griping because it isn’t perfect….nothing is. Don’t get me wrong – there is always room for improvement. But maybe now, with this hope, people won’t mindly criticize but will and offer constructive solutions with their comments so we can all be more productive.

    We can all be proud of two great men who ran a tough race with dignitiy through to the end.

    GOD BLESS AMERICA!!!!

  7. 8 Matthew November 5, 2008 at 5:36 am

    Love this post, and it’s nice to love this country again. O B A M A ! Now I can throw away all the Canadian real estate listings on my desk. I’m stayin’! 😉

  8. 9 Aunt Vicki November 5, 2008 at 7:19 am

    For those of us who may not be quite as excited this A.M. as some of you, we are still proud to be Americans and see the voting system work so that people can have their say! We certainly join with you in saying God Bless America and ask that He will continue to bless this great country of ours!

  9. 10 Kristi November 5, 2008 at 7:57 am

    What a special time to spend with your daughter. Thanks for sharing that, Carrie – it brought tears to my eyes!

  10. 11 stlcardsfan10 November 5, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Matt can you give me those Canadian listings. After the stuff that was voted through in Michigan, I am getting ready to leave. I can tolerate having a different presidential choice then what I would have liked. But some of the proposals that passed are ridiculous in my eyes.

  11. 12 Anna November 6, 2008 at 3:19 am

    Hoooray! what I love is that my two-year-old Henry looks at the screen and says, Barack Obama! And he will never know a country where women don’t run for president or vice president, a black man is a president and in my state, a day when gay marriage isn’t legal.

  12. 13 Cara November 7, 2008 at 8:43 am

    My sister took all three of her kids to vote and they all got the sticker to wear. I should have taken Francesco, I am definitely taking him the next time.

  13. 14 Maya November 10, 2008 at 7:35 am

    So true! We sat with Zane in front of the TV and described everything to him. Not that he will remember but there’s just something about our kids being in this time in history that is so cool.

  14. 15 Chad Patterson November 11, 2008 at 9:05 am

    We too watched the acceptance speech with our oldest son. It was a beautiful thing; he has cried three times since then, just spontaneous tears and when we ask him why he is crying he always answers: “it’s so cool that Barack Obama is going to be our President.”

    I am in a huge minority being in Northern Michigan, trust me, we still have lots of people who drive with Confederate Flag license plates on the front of their cars; but being the manager of an educational theatre company and married to a teacher we were squarely on the side of Obama/Biden. It was historical, beautiful and gives us all hope toward a bright future for our precious children. Say hi to Jamie for me. Your girls are adorable, I am so happy for you both!

    All the best, Chad Patterson


Leave a Reply

