Randomness of the laziest kind

Warning: this is going to be the most-cobbled-together post you have ever read.

I am basically using this post in lieu of a mass email because I have hundreds of emails that are just not going to get returned, and questions that are just not going to get answered, otherwise. So I’ll attempt to throw it all in here instead.

Maybe you haven’t emailed me or are not expecting an answer to anything? Well then, you can stop right here. And those of you wondering “has she even visited my blog lately?” “Why hasn’t she commented, then?” Oh, believe me, I’m trying – if you would all just stop writing and let me just catch up, I really would appreciate it. M’kay? Thanks!

Addie & the Plague
So…thanks for the inquiries, Addie does seem to be doing ok. We had a day very similar to a few weeks ago when she had a few “incidents” and basically just slept the rest of the day away. She isn’t running a fever, and she is insisting that she isn’t hungry, so I’m not pushing it. I did get half a piece of cinnamon toast down her after her three hour nap this afternoon. For some odd reason both of the girls think that the only thing you can eat when you are sick is cinnamon-sugar toast?

And yes, Stacy, we do have mattress pads on the all of the mattresses, EXCEPT for Em’s little trundle bed. For the past week the girls have been having “sleepovers.” J. and I have been joking that we really only need a two bedroom house since they are so keen to share a room. (Well, only half-jokingly!) It started in Addie’s bed over the weekend. We were all in Ad’s bed reading books –

A: “Mama? Will you sleep with me tonight?”
M: “No honey, Mama is sleeping in her bed. Everyone in their own beds.”
A: (BIG sigh.) “Emma? Won’t you sleep with me tonight?”
E: “Of course I will, Baby sis.”

And it was a success! Nice long 12-hour sleeps from both of them. The last few nights they have migrated to Em’s room. So, of course, Murphy’s Law, the one mattress without a pad, that would be the one Addie was on last night. So, new mattress pad. Have definitely added it to the list of things we must get.

And baking soda! It definitely takes the stink out. I used a combo of soda, OxyClean and the Seventh Generation detergent we have been using. I know! I did switch from my beloved Tide and The 7thGen stuff seems to be working really well, is natural with no phosphates. The rest of the house has also been scoured and disinfected, and hopefully nobody else will become infected. I really do NOT want to miss my weekend, but would feel awful if I knew J. was dealing with an entirely sick house. (I do however remember our weekend, Kimmer. We still managed to have a good time, didn’t we!?)

Sporty Em
Good eyes, PapaStan. Em is indeed playing basketball with a soccer ball. We were at the school on Sunday evening for a bit and someone had left the ball there, so she and J. were using it as a stand-in for a basketball. She did however tell me that she is the only girl to play basketball at recess time.

This Saturday is the WonderGirls last game. Whew. I think the novelty of soccer has worn off and she is ready to try the next something new. The girls have promised me that they were going to win the game in my honor since I won’t be there to see it. (One day, Kim!) We shall see.

The Fires
No, the fires are not affecting us, well not directly, at least. A few highways were closed over the weekend, a few friends have been evacuated, and another friend in Santa Barbara actually lost a good portion of his property and studios. Sunday the air quality was so poor that we were actually only at the school park for a little bit, and I had an aching head and tight chest just from the little bit we were out. On Monday Em said that they were only allowed out for recess for a few minutes and the teachers told them “not to run.”  But the smell and the ashes on the cars are a mere inconvenience compared to what so many Southern Californians are going through right now. I feel so badly for all of them.

I did have a complete panic moment last night. I was closing Em’s window and looked out and saw the unmistakeable glow of what could only be a very large fire. It looked like it was maybe half a dozen streets over and I instantly started making a list of what we should be grabbing. (For the record, my first list was Girls, cats, hard drive with all of our 75,000+ photos on it, my camera, and my laptop.) We turned the news on and discovered that it was an apartment fire, a very large fire, and thankfully it was contained within an hour or so. But, that is one of the worst feelings, let me tell you. I hope I don’t ever have that feeling ever again.

Alright this has gone on long enough. And if you suffered through all of this babbling, you at least earn a photo or two for making it through.

More from the park…

em_park.jpg

ad_park.jpg

7 Responses to “Randomness of the laziest kind”


  1. 1 Kat:) November 19, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Sorry, I had to post. We’ve had that nasty bug go through our house as well. Sarah has decided the flu bug has finally crawled out of her ear because she feels much better.
    Glad yall are feeling better:)
    LOVE the shot of Jamie and Addison:) Love all the pictures, but that’s really great:) Nothing like Daddy and daughter:)
    Been trying to talk Paul into another trip out there. Anyway, take care! glad yall are better:)

  2. 2 Vicky November 20, 2008 at 5:56 am

    It almost looks like fall there.

  3. 3 arizaphale November 20, 2008 at 8:10 am

    Ugh. Fires. We are heading into fire season and keep getting reminders from the council about clearing away vegetation etc. Last New Year’s we were at a party where we watched a huge fire up the hill from the house and wondered if we should evacuate….strange how immobile we all were. Like rabbits in headlights. The hostess rang the emergency services and heard it was being attended to and in minutes it was gone. Phew. weird feeling.
    Let’s hope you gys continue to be OK.

  4. 4 Elisa November 20, 2008 at 8:45 am

    BYW – cinnamon sugar toast is the BEST thing to eat when getting over a queasy tummy! 🙂

    Love all the photos – as usual – but must agree with Kat that the photo of Jamie and Addie is simply WONDERFUL!! That is worthy of a spot on the wall!

    See you tomorrow for a bit before you head out for the big weekend! Hate to miss it but this concern the older two are in is a big deal and I really cannot miss it (and don’t really want to miss either, despite the call of the crafting muse!)

  5. 5 Maya November 20, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    Did I miss what the mattress pads are for? I so glad you guys are staying safe from the fires! That had to be scary to see the glow of the apartment fire!

  6. 6 Christina November 20, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Random can be good!! I’m glad for the updates, and especially glad that you’re been safe with all the scary fires. Still, too close for comfort!

  7. 7 Maggie November 23, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Random is excellent! And don’t think of it as lazy…think of it as effective!

    And what great pictures of your girls!


Leave a Reply

