Today, by the numbers

10 = the number of times I have used the threat “Santa just made a check by your name” in the last 12 hours.

9 = the number of meltdown temper tantrums which directly correlates to the number of threats.  (See #10 above.)

8 = the number of loads of laundry I have washed, dried, folded and put away and thought about folding and putting away.

7 = the number of outfits between two little girls. (Gee, I guess that explains #8 above, right?)

6 = the number of stamps I had to peel off and reposition on little red envelopes. (Addie was helping me label, stamp and send our Christmas cards out.)

5 = the number of different pairs of tights that have been donned on between two little girls.

4 = the number of hours spent running between my project on the computer and helping Em with her homework.

3 = the number of stores we visited trying to find a little white button-up blouse for Em. (Do they not sell cute little white blouses any longer? We went with a black turtleneck instead.)

2 = the number of “major events” attended this evening. (One dance recital and one school Christmas program.)

1 = the number of times I got sick today. (A vast improvement over yesterday’s bout with the ‘ol stomach flu, trust me!)

DSC_0097.jpg

The best thing about today…is it is almost over.

11 Responses to “Today, by the numbers”


  1. 1 Erinne December 10, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Awwww sounds like a bad day but good to vent.

    Hope your events went smoothy and your stomach feels better soon.

    I had a great day – It’s my b-day and my anti-vegan hubby made me a terrific vegan dinner and b-day cake so I felt very lucky!!!

    Hope tomorrow brings a better day.

  2. 2 Vicky December 11, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Hugs. . . and a shoulder if needed.

  3. 3 thelandofka December 11, 2008 at 6:50 am

    I hope you are feeling better now Carrie! Stomach flu is not fun, but on the plus side you usually lose a pound or two. 😉

    Hope you had a good time at the events – the girls look very cute!

  4. 4 Maggie December 11, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Oh no! All that, and you’re sick? That is no good at all.

    Hopefully you woke up this morning with no stomach bug and a pair of little angels who don’t misbehave all day long!

  5. 5 kim December 11, 2008 at 9:19 am

    It could be worse…. you could be pregnant.
    Sounds like a crazy full day. Last year I found a white blouse for Lauren at the Gap. Or maybe that was two years ago…..

  6. 6 michellebeauchesne December 11, 2008 at 10:11 am

    WOW !
    Some how you still did it all.
    Hope you can take some time off for a little R&R for yourself. If only for 2 hours!
    Sending hugs and love always,
    Michelle

  7. 7 MommyBrain December 11, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    That’s so cute! Well, not the getting sick or the tantrums but the picture is great. And I’m very jealous of the christmas card sending. I tried attempt #3 of taking card photos today. I think the fact that they’re now running around wearing BATHING SUITS kind of sums up how well it didn’t go.

  8. 8 Christina December 11, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Aww honey, I’m sorry you’ve been sick! And had a rough day! I hope today has been much better, and tomorrow will be better yet! sending some hugs out to CA right now…

  9. 9 Laura McIntyre December 12, 2008 at 1:38 am

    Hope today is a better day, and you are feeling better.

    Dreading once Christmas is over, this Santa threat works wonders lol

  10. 10 Cara December 12, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Sounds exhausting! I hope you are feeling better and that the rest of the week was more relaxed.
    I feel your pain with the laundry, I feel like it never ends! I only get to the folding part. I am looking at piles of clean clothes folded on the couch as I type this and they have been there 3 days!

  11. 11 arizaphale December 20, 2008 at 6:35 am

    From the photo I surmise that none of your ‘pain’ was visited upon your loved ones 🙂 they look so happy!!!! All going better now I assume!


Leave a Reply

