I’m Gonna Miss This?

If you haven’t heard the song, You’re Gonna Miss This you should really go listen to it now.

Go ahead, I’ll wait. Actually maybe I had better go with you and listen to it again, too.

Because I do know that I am going to miss this…

Relaxing

and this too…

Emmy

But the other “adventures” in parenting that made up today?

  • The running and screaming through the house?
  • The trail of toys from one end of the house to the other, when didn’t I just pick them all up one hour ago?
  • The five straight hours of refereeing, including repeating myself about 6 times, “Stop it…before someone gets hurt!” (Someone did get hurt before I got to the 7th time!)
  • The “selective hearing” when I know that they had to have heard it at least once when I’ve asked 24 straight times?

I don’t know. You are going to have a hard time convincing me that I’m going to miss that!
We’ll see.

9 Responses to “I’m Gonna Miss This?”


  1. 1 Maggie January 15, 2009 at 5:25 am

    What sweet, sweet girls. And you’re right, that song is fantastic!

    I bet you’ll even miss all those other not-so-fun things too — the question is just how long will you have to wait before you miss them!

  2. 2 Dawn January 15, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Oh, I love that song….it’s so true~

    We will miss it all eventually 🙂

  3. 3 Tanya January 15, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    ohhh this sounds like my life and our second tot won’t be born till May 🙂
    Need to go hear that song…but if it makes me cry…I don’t even know what I’ll do. My eyes are soooo swollen and itchy from Cedar Fever!

  4. 4 Cara January 15, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    I often think about my boys growing up, make me tear up a bit. I already feel like the babies infancy just flew by, he will be a year old in 85 days.

  5. 5 MommyBrain January 16, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Oooo, we’re having similiar adventures. I guess I can’t blame all my “adventures” on the fact that they’re twins. I wouldn’t miss any of that either.

    At the same time, I can’t believe mine are already three and appreciate the reminder that instead of focusing on what I WON’T miss that I should think about what I will miss.

  6. 6 MGF January 16, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Sounds like my house- but I have three boys. I thought that only happened with boys.
    Enjoy your weekend

  7. 7 Maya Laurent January 16, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Oh that song is precious and I don’t even like country! Thanks for sharing!

  8. 8 Christina January 17, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Why did you have to do that to me?? I’ve never heard it before, and now I’m all teary-eyed. I feel ya…both on the parts I will miss like crazy and the parts that I have a hard time believing I’ll really miss!!

  9. 9 arizaphale January 18, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Ah but there are many more wonderful and different parenting moments to come. My dad for example, was poking around my backyard looking for a snake for me yesterday………. parenting never ends 😀


Leave a Reply

