Crafty Monkey Tuesday

We have been dealing with a different sort of “Crafty” around here the past few days. I fully expect (since J. will be out of town this week!) to get some actual crafting done this week. But between the visitors and work projects, I have not seen my scrap desk for another week.

But, we have however been dealing with the very “crafty” Addison Rose for the past two days.

Sunday afternoon J. talked me into taking the crib rail off to make Ad’s bed a toddler bed. Everyone assured me that she was ready, we are potty training, she can almost hang herself trying to scale the crib walls…it was just time.

bed.jpg

So we did it. And she was giddy with excitement. Could not wait to sleep in her “big girl” bed. So I put her up for her nap, and Em went up to take a “rest” as well. Soon we heard, “pitter patter” of not one, but two sets of feet. And I could hear Em saying, “shhh…you have to be quiet” as they crossed the top of the staircase and ventured into our bedroom. Now Em has a partner in crime, there will be no rest for the weary around here.

So with no nap on Sunday, and much excitement with all the visitors and fun, by 7:30pm, A. was exhausted. She climbed into bed and with only a little bit of protesting, she was asleep until 7:30am yesterday morning.

I’m all excited thinking, okay – we did have to gate Em’s room for awhile at naptime til she got the hang of it, as long as A. is still sleeping well at night, I don’t care…right?

Oh.My.God. I was clearly delirious yesterday morning thinking that.

A. and I battled for – oh, at least, two hours yesterday afternoon. Thank God my mother-in-law was here to offer some moral support. I just may have run screaming from the house. But Debby calmly reminded me that I have a much stronger will than A. (although you have not seen the resolve on this girl – I’m not sure I do), A. was just testing her boundaries, and it is a very scary time for my poor little girl.

And then the minute I left to go pick up Em from school, she fell asleep. Of course, she did.

As we were eating dinner last night Ad was “all talk.” “Yep” – gonna sleep in the new big girl bed. “Yep” – gonna stay in bed. “Nope” – not going to cry.

I think our bedtime routine took well more than an hour. It usually, just for reference, takes maybe 20 minutes from teeth-brushing to closing the door behind me.

And Addie pulled out every trick in the book. She needed a drink. She needed to take off her Cinderella gown, jammies, pull-up and go potty. She wanted another book. She wanted big kitty out of the bed. NO! She wanted big kitty IN the bed. She needed a band-aid for her boo-boo. Kitty needed a band-aid. And so it went….

I could almost see her gears trying to concoct just one more excuse to keep me in her room. But how do you stay mad at such a crafty monkey when she gives you this?

bed2.jpg

8 Responses to “Crafty Monkey Tuesday”


  1. 1 Colleen October 16, 2007 at 11:03 am

    Look at you all…. switching to big girl beds. What are you thinking?!?!? How am I going to stick to keeping Zoe in her crib if you all go and get big girl beddy on me? haha

    Sigh. I’m in denial. It’s time to convert the crib to the big girl bed.

  2. 2 MommyBrain October 16, 2007 at 11:21 am

    You mean you can’t keep them in cribs until they’re 18? Rats. I love hearing what A is doing so I can be prepared for my girls to go through it. Hang in there – this too will pass!

  3. 3 armywifeforlife October 16, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    Being in a big girl bed makes her look soo much bigger! Hang in there, she’ll get use to it, eventually! Here’s my “crafty” tuesday. Go easy on me, I’m working on it 🙂
    http://armywifeforlife.wordpress.com/

  4. 4 Becky October 16, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Oh the joys of converting from a crib to a big kid bed! If you recall, a few weeks back Jonathon started to boycott the crib. We had no other choice other than to try a big kid bed. Of course, he wanted nothing to do with that…until…last night! We set up a toddler bed and after much demanding “get in bed” episodes, he fell fast asleep. Tonight, I didn’t have to tell him one single time. He grabbed his blanket, crawled up in bed and fell asleep without me even realizing he was in bed. Perhaps it’s beginners luck but regardless, I’m thrilled!! I hope little Miss A enjoys her “new” bed and loves sleeping in there soon! Good luck. I found that I needed a lot of patience when I was going throught the transition with the kids. 🙂

  5. 5 Christina October 16, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    Why is it always the Daddys that convince us to try these things?!

    She looks darling in her BIG! Girl! Bed! But oh my, I can imagine your frustration. We just did it for one nap, and I was about to go crazy. I hope each day/night gets a little easier. I must admit, your little partners in crime had me laughing! “shhh, we have to be quiet!” LOL.

  6. 6 Kim October 16, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    Oh…. that silly little girl. She IS like Lauren, I swear it! Those pics are too cute. Good luck getting her situated with the new routines now that she has her freedom!

  7. 7 Stacy October 17, 2007 at 10:34 am

    I could have written your post LOL! It is a battle for nap and everynight for us, too. I want to put the crib front back on her bed that is such a pain to put together that hubby is less than thrilled at that prospect. 😉


  1. 1 Here we go, Here we go, Here we go again… « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on February 16, 2008 at 11:49 pm

Leave a comment




Living In Chaos

My Flickr Photos

Join In the Fun!

bsm

Obama 2008

The Breast Cancer Site

Add to Technorati Favorites