Childhood ~ Theme Thursday

Wow. This was a kinda hard one for me this week. For starters this is the first official week of summer for us, and one of the only ones where we don’t HAVE to do anything. So we have been taking full advantage of it. Plus J. is out of town, so the girls and I have really just been on our own timetable the past few days.

I was thinking that I would actually take the assignment seriously, plan something, and then go out and shoot it. So I started by thinking about my childhood and my favorite memories from it. Taking trips to our grandparents’ house, visiting the Island, playing in Lake Superior, going camping on the weekends, swimming, boating, water skiing…notice a trend here? All of my favorite childhood memories are summer memories. I think I was destined to live near the beach.

So instead of shooting anything for this week, I’m using photos that I shot today when I took the girls to the beach. There is absolutely nothing better than that satisfied feeling on the way home from the beach. Cheeks a little sunkissed, a salty taste on your lips, sand-crusted hair, and a happy glow that can only come from spending all day in the sun catching crabbys.

It is days like today that I hope my girls remember when they look back on their childhood, too.

For more childhood photos, be sure to swim on over to Stacy’s today.

13 Responses to “Childhood ~ Theme Thursday”


  1. 1 MelodyA. June 19, 2008 at 4:56 am

    Strawberries at the beach? They absolutely will.

  2. 2 Kimmer June 19, 2008 at 5:03 am

    love the pictures and happen to LOVE the beach myself

  3. 3 thelandofka June 19, 2008 at 5:26 am

    Oh, I bet your girls will really remember their childhood spent a the beach. I’m so jealous, I would love living near water. The hubby…not so much.

    Great shots!

  4. 4 Jennifer June 19, 2008 at 7:20 am

    LOVE them – summer is such a fun time and there is no better place than the beach to celebrate childhood! 🙂

  5. 5 Nicki June 19, 2008 at 7:31 am

    Definitely captured childhood here! Love that strawberry shot!

  6. 6 Jen June 19, 2008 at 7:45 am

    I am so jealous. I wish I was at the beach with my kids. Great shots.

  7. 7 Erinne June 19, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Yay for summertime – lol my guys have been singing songs from High School Musical all morning – ha ha – to get us reved up for the summer!

    Love – the photos – love the beach – they looks so at ease and peaceful… What a great place to live to give your beautiful girls such wonderful childhood memories.

    PS – we did plan our vacation but alas not to Disneyland – they didn’t want to go – they wanted a beach vacation so we are headed to a place about 7 hours from here by car – I will email it to you so you can see!! But we are thinking Disneyland next May – and you better believe I would love to organize a lil play date with your girls and cutie Harrison. Good suggestion! 🙂

  8. 8 Christina June 19, 2008 at 10:21 am

    I LOVE that first picture! They’re all great, but that one – wow. The goggles her expression, just perfect. And is that heart-and-crossbones on her swimsuit? LOL, that’s great!

    The memories of days like this will remain forever for your girls, I just know it. And, the thing they will rememebr most of all is what’s not pictured: a wonderful mom that did so much fun stuff with them!

  9. 9 laura June 19, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    What lucky girls to live by the beach! I’m one of those “hide-in-the-shade” people but your photos are making me want to seek out the sun and water!

  10. 10 Joanna June 19, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Aw, the beach brings me back to my childhood. Unfortunately I live in the midwest now and am not close to it for my daughter, except when visiting family. What great memories you will have to share with them. Love the sense of wonder.

  11. 11 arizaphale June 20, 2008 at 5:16 am

    Childhood at the beach. Magical.

  12. 12 golightly June 21, 2008 at 9:09 am

    What beach did you guys go to? We headed out to disneyland on thursday. I didn’t get a chance to do Theme Thursday this week – I had other projects that had to be finished.

    Love the pictures! Harrison loves the crab and wants to keep looking at it. (Even as I type…)

  13. 13 Maya June 22, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    This makes me want a beach nearby! They will have such wonderful childhood memories of the beach thanks to you!


Leave a comment




Living In Chaos

My Flickr Photos

Join In the Fun!

bsm

Obama 2008

The Breast Cancer Site

Add to Technorati Favorites