Memory ~ Theme Thursday

All week I have been perusing my photos trying to find that one photo that tells a good story for today’s theme of memory. It was actually kind of a hard theme for me. I feel like there are so many memories to choose from, and I feel a little guilty picking one out, dusting it off, and sticking it out here as the memory.

Nonetheless, I keep going back to that one memory, that one truly defining moment in my life. When I became a mom.

em_born.jpg

(Little legal disclaimer here: Not to say that it is my “favorite” memory, I don’t really think I could classify one memory as the “best.” And not to say that the moment A. was born wasn’t just as amazing and just as awe-inspiring.)

But something so tremendous happens when your first child is born. The waiting to meet them seems so, so very long. And you have absolutely no expectations, no idea of how you are going to feel.  Or how you are supposed to feel. You are nervous and jittery and wonder “Will I be a good mom? Will I know what to do when I need to?” There is just so much anxiety that truly seems to compound itself daily.

And then, in a fraction of a moment, the rush of anticipation comes crashing down.  You see and hold that baby for the first time, and you find yourself thrust head-first into a pool of completely indescribable pure love. And all of the work, all of the anxiety, everything else in the world fades away.

And you are left with that one amazing moment. The perfect memory.

em_texture.jpg

Since that day she has provided me with nearly five whole years of memories. Each special in its’ own way.

But none can even begin to compare to the day we finally got to meet.

13 Responses to “Memory ~ Theme Thursday”


  1. 1 Rosey February 27, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Beautiful Carrie. So true. Oh the incredible difference in those two shots. Wow.

    Harrison turns 3 on Tuesday. I’m working on those memories, but I couldn’t get it done for today, after all, 3 years of memories to sift through.

  2. 2 Laura McIntyre February 28, 2008 at 2:33 am

    The perfect memory, she has changed so much as a baby . How big was she when born? Looks such a lovely chubby baby.

  3. 3 Elisa February 28, 2008 at 4:46 am

    BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN!!!!
    And I understand exactly how you feel – it is a defining moment – when life gets better than you ever thought it could!!!

  4. 4 HeadGaggler February 28, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Aww, how beautiful! Both of those shots are amazing.

  5. 5 megan February 28, 2008 at 6:47 am

    a lovely post. and what a great shot of your now five year old! how quickly it passes!

  6. 7 Stacy February 28, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Beautiful, Carrie. It brought tears to my eyes. Love both shots, but that last one is really nice. Those years pass far too quickly.

  7. 8 Maggie February 28, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Gorgeous! The first shot is so sweet, and the second shot just makes her look so grown up!

  8. 9 Bonnie February 28, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Oh wow … that last photo is stunning ! I love what you’ve done with the textures. Isn’t it amazing how quickly they grow !? To look at that first shot of you and her as a newborn and then the last one … five years in the blink of an eye !

  9. 10 kcancio February 28, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Ditto what E said. I thought about blogging that moment today, too. There’s not another one like it, for sure.

  10. 11 killlashandra February 28, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I have to agree that picking one memory seemed awfully difficult. Instead I ended up throwing up a whole bunch of memories instead. 😉

    Your textured photo turned out beautifully.

  11. 12 Christina February 28, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Aw, Carrie! You brought tears to my eyes! SO true, and so beautifully written.


Leave a comment




Living In Chaos

My Flickr Photos

Join In the Fun!

bsm

Obama 2008

The Breast Cancer Site

Add to Technorati Favorites