Yum-O Hummingbird Cake

Okay here is the recipe for the yummy Hummingbird cake we made this week…

Sift together:
3 c. flour (I used whole wheat flour this time and it turned out great!)
2 c. sugar
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
1 t. cinnamon

Add:
1 c. chopped pecans
Set aside.

In another bowl, combine:
3 eggs, beaten
1 c. applesauce (I used unsweetened)
1 c. canola oil
1/2 t. vanilla
1 c. crushed pineapple, drained
2 c. chopped bananas (about 2 – 2 1/2 bananas)

Stir together by hand. Fold liquid mixture into dry mixture until well-mixed. Divide into 3-9″ round, greased pans. Bake at 325 degrees for 25-30 minutes or until center is set.

Icing:

8 oz. cream cheese (I used the light cream cheese – no notable difference!)
1/2 c. butter
1 1/2 pounds of powdered sugar
1 t. vanilla

Beat together cream cheese and butter, add sugar until well combined. Finally add vanilla.

(I actually made 1 1/2 batches of the icing and with a layer of icing between each of the cakes, it came out almost perfectly…or you could frost the cake a little more thinly…but seriously – why would you want to do that? The icing is perfect on this cake!)

And of course, the cake looks great decorated with fresh flowers. Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Yum-O Hummingbird Cake”


  1. 1 carey June 30, 2008 at 5:09 am

    oh yum! i feel the need to bake now!

  2. 2 Christina June 30, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Yummy, yummy! I am keeping this for the next time I feel to to *from scratch* baking. Chopped bananas, that’s different.

  3. 3 Cara July 1, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I am so going to make this, I love to bake and this sound like such a good recipe.

  4. 4 arizaphale July 8, 2008 at 7:16 am

    My goodness, this sounds sensational! Bananas and pineapple…wow!! But why is it called a hummingbird cake ???


Leave a comment




Living In Chaos

My Flickr Photos

Join In the Fun!

bsm

Obama 2008

The Breast Cancer Site

Add to Technorati Favorites