The Punishment

After our fly-induced commotion earlier this week, I am hoping for a little reprieve for the last bit of the week.

This parenting stuff is hard.

And, I’m afraid I gave you all a false impression – it appears you may think I “handled” the situation calmly and with something resembling responsible parenting.

Yeah. About that. Here’s the rest of the story…

E: “No. My tennis racket.”
M: “Go sit on the steps. Now.”

I was a little flustered. I had NO clue how to handle this one. And honestly, I handle about 90% of the discipline around the house because I am with them the most, I just didn’t want to be the one to do something.

So, Emma was sent back to the step (and was there much longer than just five minutes!) while I called J. and told him that we had a situation. He told me to tell her that “Mommy and Daddy would discuss the punishment when he got home and he would see her in the morning.”

Nice. Very smooth. And it put the fear of DAD into her for a change. She went to bed without a peep.

We gave her two punishment options:
1. Give up TV and books before bed for a week
or
2. GIve up seeing the Space Chimps movie at the theater this weekend
(Both things we knew she would not want to give up and would indeed be punishments.)

She chose option one. So tonight we did bath and she went straight to bed.

The thing is…it is really hard to cut out our little reading time. For me, I mean. I really missed it tonight.

Not only that, I want to know what Junie B. is up to.

This is what our little Junie B. was up to today…terrorizing her little sister, of course.

DSC_0600 copy.jpg

DSC_0594 copy.jpg

DSC_06133 copy.jpg

9 Responses to “The Punishment”


  1. 1 Maggie July 18, 2008 at 4:08 am

    She might be terrorizing her little sister, but she sure looks cute doing it!

  2. 2 ksmcnulty July 18, 2008 at 5:01 am

    Oh Care, I’m proud of you — you handled that well. Sometimes we need to just step back
    #1 to collect our thoughts so we don’t beat our children ;o)
    #2 the fear of daddy is always good when used sparingly

    Way to make her choose. I’m storing that one for a later time.

  3. 3 Elisa July 18, 2008 at 6:03 am

    Still think you handled it well! Sometimes you’ve GOT to call in the reinforcements!
    And the choie thing – well played! That’s great!

  4. 4 arizaphale July 18, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Oh dear. Life lessons are tough on both kids and parents. Still, the photos look great and she doesn’t seem too traumatised. How about you???

  5. 5 Christina July 18, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I’d say you handled it VERY well! I wish I could use the Daddy card, but he’s a softy and would let everything slide. Ha!

    Love these pics…especially since I looked at your Exif, and can’t believe you shot these at ISO 1250! Wow, you’re good Care!

  6. 6 carrie July 18, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Thanks, Christina – I was playing with some of the actions I have – the one I used on this series was a Vintage Wash. I like it – I’m not sure these are the perfect photos for the effect – but I will find a good one to use it on.

    This shot is the one with just normal processing – no wash. I like that one, too. Helps to have a cute kid!

  7. 7 Kim July 19, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    A tough situation, I must say. I’ve no idea what I would have done in your place. Well played. It looks like Em’s not too adversely effected by the incident. They bounce back so well, don’t they?

  8. 8 Ambajam July 20, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    We are having a cute baby photo contest this month. There are only 10 days left to enter. I hope you consider entering or maybe help spread the word. 😉

    Here’s a link to the contest info:
    http://blog.ambajam.com/august-cutest-baby-photo-contest/

  9. 9 thelandofka July 22, 2008 at 4:56 am

    Well, it does sound like you handled it very well. For my kids losing things like that are very hard on them, too.


Leave a comment




Living In Chaos

My Flickr Photos

Join In the Fun!

bsm

Obama 2008

The Breast Cancer Site

Add to Technorati Favorites