A Swing Moment ~ Best Shot Monday

My surfer girl

Lately it seems like the only words we exchange are repeated requests for you to do something, (those would be from me, of course) and whiny protests. (Yep, those would be from you.)

But tonight, because your sister did not finish her dinner in a timely matter, you and I headed to the park hand-in-hand. Just the two of us.

You chattered the whole way across the street about the Halloween decorations and what you should wear to school tomorrow and I was a bit distracted with the thought of my Monday morning calendar.

“Push me really high on the swing, Mama! Higher!” you called out to me.

And with every push, it was mesmerizing. I marveled at how long your legs have become. How when you are propelled forward, your head falls back and your hair sweeps the earth.

I sat in the swing next to you and just soaked you in. Back and forth. How high you can fly. You started to sing the song you had learned in Sunday school for me and then we just talked. Or rather, you talked, and I really listened. I learned more about you, your school days, your friends, and what is in your pretty little head in that 20 minutes we spent swinging tonight, than I have in the past four weeks.

It was my melting moment for the week. Thank you, my little bird for a much needed reminder to take a moment to swing in the present.

For more melting moments, visit Tracey’s today.

18 Responses to “A Swing Moment ~ Best Shot Monday”


  1. 1 megan October 19, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    lovely picture, lovely post.

  2. 2 Kara October 19, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    That is a gorgeous picture – she will cherish it 🙂

  3. 3 Jaimee October 19, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Amazing post…she will truly cherish these words some day when she reads them…Gorgeous picture…she’s beautiful!

  4. 4 Laura McIntyre October 19, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    I love those moments, im so happy the two of you got those moments together

  5. 5 carey October 20, 2008 at 3:48 am

    awwwww, what a wonderful day!!

  6. 6 MelodyA. October 20, 2008 at 4:02 am

    I love alone time with Natalya. Unfortunately we don’t get to do it often. If we split up I usually get V. So glad you got to share that time with her.

  7. 7 Kimmer October 20, 2008 at 4:06 am

    awww, i’m so glad you and Em got 20 minutes of greatness! Those reminders to slow down aren’t so bad, huh?

  8. 8 Aunt Vicki October 20, 2008 at 5:55 am

    That was so beautiful! I love looking at motherhood through your eyes. Those two girls are so blessed to have you for their Mom. But what a great reminder of how much we miss in our hectic pace! The post was wonderful!

  9. 9 michellebeauchesne October 20, 2008 at 5:56 am

    Thanks for reminding us all not to forget to soak in those moments. It’s amazing that so much can be learned when we are really listening to what they are saying, and when we only have one beautiful child talking to us at one time. Seriously a great post. Wed. Connor has the day off, and for the first time in a long time I have the opportunity to give him 3 golden hours. No cell phone interruptions – you’ve reminded me that this will be the perfect time to catch up, and to be fully present.
    Beautiful picture.

  10. 10 thelandofka October 20, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Beautiful post and thank you for sharing your moment. I love having one on one time with the kids where we can just marvel at how beautiful they are…and how they are growing way too fast. 🙂

  11. 11 Kate W. October 20, 2008 at 7:45 am

    I too love those times and agree with many, they are too few and far between what they should be. Love the picture! She is beautiful.

  12. 12 Christina October 20, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Beautiful post! one day you will have to gather together all these “letters” you’ve written to the girls, and present them with a book on their 18th birthday, or wedding day. THAT will be cherished forever.

  13. 13 Joanna October 20, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    What a beautiful post. That melted my heart. And a great picture to add to it.

  14. 14 Cara October 20, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I started to tear up. It awesome that you are recording those moments with your girls. We were all lying in the bed this morning just handing out and late for work, my husband said…”work will always be there but they are only little once”…we were really late for work today.

  15. 15 MGF October 20, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    I love to hear after busy times, how we can stop to smell the roses and soak up life.

  16. 16 Chris October 20, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Wow. Here I am all PMS-y and then I read this and get all weepy. Thanks a lot. LOL. Seriously, I know exactly what you mean in this post. Thanks for saying it for many of us, I’m sure. Great shots. Great BSM.

  17. 17 Maggie October 22, 2008 at 8:38 am

    That is the sweetest! And what a wonderful shot to go with it.

  18. 18 Maya October 22, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Okay this just brought some tears to my eyes! Soooo sweet!


Leave a comment




Living In Chaos

My Flickr Photos

Join In the Fun!

bsm

Obama 2008

The Breast Cancer Site

Add to Technorati Favorites